LIT 317: Witch In Literature / LIT 499/670: Witches of Salem 1692: Find Books

Library of Congress Subject Headings or LCSH are terms assigned by cataloging librarians to the descriptions of library books and other resources. They communicate both what a source is about (i.e., its subject) and what it actually is (e.g., encyclopedia, dramatic work, primary source). Conceptually, LCSH function similarly to social media hashtags. Unlike those tags, however, LCSH are consistently applied and never generated on the fly. Rather, catalogers choose from a list of terms already in use and approved by other librarians.

The following LCSH lead to relevant resources held by Gitenstein Library.

1. [Subject contains]: witch* AND trials
2. [Subject contains]: witch* AND litera*
3. [Subject contains]: witch* AND drama
4. [Subject contains]: witch* AND history

1. [Subject is(exact)]: Magic [add another term to reduce your results, e.g., misogyny]
2. [Subject is(exact)]: Trials (Witchcraft)
3. [Subject is(exact)]: Trials (Witchcraft) — Massachusetts
4. [Subject is(exact)]: Witchcraft [add another term to reduce your results, e.g., Africa]
5. [Subject is (exact)]: Witchcraft in literature
6. [Subject is(exact)]: Witchcraft — Massachusetts
7. [Subject is(exact)]: Witch hunting
8. [Subject is(exact)]: Witches [add another term to reduce your results, e.g., devil]
9. [Subject is(exact)]: Witches in literature

Physical books recommended by Dr. Tarter have been placed on Reserve. Borrow Reserve books from the circulation desk in 3-hour increments. Reserve books may not be removed from the library.

Some titles recommended by Dr. Tarter are available as e-books. These fall into two categories: E-books held by our library and e-books available through Internet Archive, a non-profit library unaffiliated with TCNJ. Access the latter by creating a free Internet Archive account. Use the 1-hour loan period to read the e-book in your browser (preferred). Renew for an additional hour, and so on, as needed. The 14-day loan period will allow you to download an Internet Archive e-book as a protected EPUB or PDF file for offline reading, but doing so will make the e-book unavailable to other students in the class.

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request books and book chapters not held by our library. Chapters typically arrive within hours. Physical books take days.

WorldCat is a "union catalog" of millions of records for books held by thousands of libraries. Search WorldCat to find more books about your topic.

Identify e-books available to read or borrow immediately by conducting an Advanced search. Look for the Library Code box toward the bottom of the page. Enter one of the following library codes:

• INARC (e-books from Internet Archive)
• HATHI (e-books from HathiTrust)
• NJT (books/e-books from our Gitenstein Library)
• OAPEN (open access e-books)