Featured
The Cambridge History of Gay and Lesbian Literature by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781139547376Publication Date: 2014-12-18
An Introduction to Queer Literary Studies by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781003132936Publication Date: 2022-11-01
Databases (Reference)
These Gitenstein Library databases provide full-text access to a range of reference sources of interest to students researching LGBT+ history and literature topics.
- Literature Resource CenterThis database includes entries from the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Reference Books and E-Books @Gitenstein Library
An encyclopedia is "a book or numbered set of books containing authoritative summary information about a variety of topics in the form of short essays, usually arranged alphabetically by headword or classified in some manner. An entry may be signed or unsigned, with or without illustration or a list of references for further reading" (ODLIS).
GLBTQ.com: An [open access] Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture (archived 2015), contains 2,000 signed articles on literature (including author biographies), the arts, and the social sciences written by academics and other experts.
Published since 2010:
The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 0684325535Publication Date: 2019-02-08Highly recommended!
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide by Call Number: HQ76 .G724 2010ISBN: 0313342318Publication Date: 2009-12-01
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780810874688Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Published between 2000 and 2009:
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States by Call Number: PS153.S39 E53 2009ISBN: 9780313348594Publication Date: 2009-07-14
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in AmericaCall Number: HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004ISBN: 0684312611Publication Date: 2003-12-05
Lesbian Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 0203487885Publication Date: 2003-09-02
Published before 2000:
Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures by Call Number: HQ75.13 .E53 2000ISBN: 0815333544Publication Date: 1999-12-01
A bibliography is a reference work that lists other sources about a subject. Use these bibliographies to locate criticism and other scholarly secondary sources as well as primary sources on LGBT+ history and literature. A bibliography can only point to sources published prior to its own publication. Use the abstracting and indexing databases listed on the Find Articles tab of this guide to find more sources published in the last decade.
Published since 2010:
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Questioning Teen Literature: A Guide to Reading Interests by Call Number: Z1232 .W43 2010ISBN: 9781591585060Publication Date: 2010-03-01
HIV/AIDS in Young Adult Novels: An Annotated Bibliography by Call Number: PS374.A39 2010ISBN: 9780810874435Publication Date: 2010-10-11
Rainbow Family Collections: Selecting and Using Children's Books With Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Content by Call Number: Z1037 .N24 2012ISBN: 9781598849608
Published between 2000 and 2009:
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered Literature: A Genre Guide by Call Number: PS153.G38 B67 2008ISBN: 9781591581949Publication Date: 2008-06-30see especially Chapter 6, Coming Out
Lesbian and Gay Voices: An Annotated Bibliography and Guide to Literature for Children and Young Adults by Call Number: PS169.H65 D39 2000ISBN: 0313311625Publication Date: 2000-06-30
Reader's Guide to Lesbian and Gay Studies by Call Number: HQ75.15 .R43 2000ISBN: 1579581420Publication Date: 2000-03-01
Published before 2000:
The Homosexual and Society by Call Number: HQ76.25 .R5 1990ISBN: 0313253579Publication Date: 1990-04-23dated bibliography useful for identifying the pre-1990 secondary literature
Lesbian Sources: A Bibliography of Periodical Articles, 1970-1990 by Call Number: HQ75.5 .G3 1993ISBN: 0815307829Publication Date: 1992-12-01
These bio-bibliographies provide credible background information about LGBT+ authors, historical figures, and/or lists of authors' primary literary works. Many of these reference works will also surface secondary sources written by scholars about LGBT authors and historical figures.
LGBT biography:
Contemporary Gay American Novelists: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0313280193Publication Date: 1993-01-30This dated bibliography reveals works published during the mid-to-late twentieth century. Also available in print, Reference Collection, Call # PS374.H63 C66 1993.
Contemporary Gay American Poets and Playwrights: An A-to-Z Guide by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0313322325Publication Date: 2003-06-30also available in print, Reference Stacks (1st floor), call # PS325 .C656 2003
Contemporary Lesbian Writers of the United States by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0313282153Publication Date: 1993-10-30This book incorporates discussions of authors who write for children and young adults such as Lesléa Newman, author of Heather Has Two Mommies (c. 1989). Also available in print, Reference Collection, Call # PS153.L46 C65 1993
Who's Who in Contemporary Gay and Lesbian History by Call Number: HQ75.2 .W46 2001ISBN: 041522974XPublication Date: 2000-12-05
Who's Who in Gay and Lesbian History: From Antiquity to World War II by Call Number: HQ75.2 .W46 2001ISBN: 0415159822Publication Date: 2000-12-05
National biography:
American National Biography by Call Number: CT213 .A68 1999ISBN: 0195206355Publication Date: 1999-01-21The ANB is the go-to reference work for finding credible information about the lives of significant persons in American history. Locate Americans by "occupations and realms of renown" such as Animal Rights Activists, Black Nationalists, Civil Rights Leaders, Gay Rights Activists, Social Reformers, Suffragists, and many other occupations. Brief but highly useful bibliographic essays accompany each entry. These point researchers to the most important secondary biographies but also to repositories of collected papers and other primary source ephemera.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography by
The standard reference work for British biography. Extensive bibliographic essays accompany many entries.
Call Number: DA28 .O95 2004ISBN: 019861411XPublication Date: 2004-09-23
A companion is a "a handbook intended to be used in connection with the study of a particular subject or field" (ODLIS). Companions provide introductory essays and topic overviews. I especially recommend titles in the Cambridge Companions to Literature series.
Top recommendations:
The Cambridge Companion to American Gay and Lesbian Literature by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781107046498Publication Date: 2015-05-26also available in print, General Collection, Call # PS153.G38 C36 2015
The Cambridge Companion to Queer Studies by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781108482042Publication Date: 2020-05-31
Also great:
The Ashgate Research Companion to Queer Theory by Call Number: HQ76.25 .A83 2009ISBN: 9780754671350Publication Date: 2009-12-28
A Companion to Gender Studies by Call Number: HQ1075 .C656 2005ISBN: 0631221093Publication Date: 2004-10-08
A dictionary is a "single-volume or multivolume reference work containing brief explanatory entries for terms and topics related to a specific subject or field of inquiry, usually arranged alphabetically. The entries in a dictionary are usually shorter than those contained in an encyclopedia on the same subject..." (ODLIS).
The Dictionary of Homophobia by Call Number: HQ76.4 .D5313 2008ISBN: 1551522292Publication Date: 2008-11-01
Historical Dictionary of Lesbian Literature by Call Number: PN491.3 .M55 2006ISBN: 0810849410Publication Date: 2006-01-12
A handbook is a "single-volume reference book of compact size that provides concise factual information on a specific subject, organized systematically for quick and easy access" (ODLIS).
Gay and Lesbian Rights: A Reference Handbook by Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 N48 2009ISBN: 9781598843064Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Gay-Straight Alliances: A Handbook for Students, Educators, and Parents by Call Number: LC2574.5 .M33 2007ISBN: 9781560236849Publication Date: 2007-06-06
Transgender: a Reference Handbook by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 1440856915Publication Date: 2019-02-15
