Featured: Primary Source Set On Microfilm
The Gay Rights Movement consists of 11 series on microfilm that document the history of the movement from the founding of the Mattachine Society in 1950. Not held by Gitenstein Library, this series can be accessed at nearby research libraries. These include Princeton's Firestone Library (Series 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 11); Rutgers' Douglass Library (Series 1, 2, 3); and Temple's Paley Library (Series 7).
Please contact me for instructions.
Primary Source Books and E-Books @Gitenstein Library
Greek and Roman Sexualities: A Sourcebook by Call Number: HQ13 .L37 2012ISBN: 9781441153371Publication Date: 2012-09-06"This volume will provide readers with a substantial selection of primary sources documenting sexualities, sexual behaviors, and perceptions of sex, sexuality, gender, and the body among people in the ancient Greco-Roman world. The coverage will begin with Homer in the eighth century BCE and will focus most heavily on Classical Greece and Rome from the Republic to the early Empire, though sources reflecting societal changes in later antiquity and a selection of Jewish and Christian readings will also be included" (publisher).
Homosexuality in Greece and Rome: A Sourcebook of Basic Documents by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780520936508Publication Date: 2003-05-12"The most important primary texts on homosexuality in ancient Greece and Rome are translated into modern, explicit English and collected together for the first time in this comprehensive sourcebook. Covering an extensive period - from the earliest Greek texts in the late seventh century b.c.e. to Greco-Roman texts of the third and fourth centuries c.e. - the volume includes well-known writings by Plato, Sappho, Aeschines, Catullus, and Juvenal, as well as less well known but highly relevant and intriguing texts such as graffiti, comic fragments, magical papyri, medical treatises, and selected artistic evidence" (publisher).
Homoeroticism in Imperial China: A Sourcebook by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780415551441Publication Date: 2012-12-06
Early Modern:
Homosexuality in Early Modern France: A Documentary Collection by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0195102576Publication Date: 2000-10-12also available in print, General Collection (2nd floor), call # HQ76.3.F8 H645 2001
King James and Letters of Homoerotic Desire by Call Number: DA391 .B46 1999ISBN: 9780877456698Publication Date: 1999-03-01"Using original letters, primarily from the British Library and the National Library of Scotland, David Bergeron creatively argues that James' correspondence with certain men in his court constitutes a gospel of homoerotic desire. Bergeron grounds his study on an examination of the tradition of letter writing during the Renaissance and draws a connection between homosexual desire and letter writing during that historical period."
The Pursuit of Sodomy: Male Homosexuality in Renaissance and Enlightenment Europe by Call Number: HQ76.2.E9 P87 1989ISBN: 0918393493Publication Date: 1989-01-19
Sodomites, Pederasts, and Tribades in Eighteenth-Century France by Call Number: HQ76.3.F8 S63 2019ISBN: 9780271083353Publication Date: 2019-03-25
19th Century:
The Homosexual Emancipation Movement in Germany by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0405073666Publication Date: 1975-01-01documentary sources on the earliest gay liberation movement
Nineteenth Century Writings on Homosexuality: A Sourcebook by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 0415153050Publication Date: 1999-05-14This book presents nineteenth century literary works written by lesbians and gay men in Great Britain. "Includes many texts not available outside specialist academic libraries...."
20th Century:
Days of Masquerade: Life Stories of Lesbians During the Third Reich by Call Number: HQ75.6.G3 S36313 1996ISBN: 0231102208Publication Date: 1996-08-22
The Hidden Holocaust? Gay and Lesbian Persecution in Germany, 1933-1945 by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 9781134260980Publication Date: 2013-08-21
The Men with the Pink Triangle by Call Number: HQ76.H4513 1980ISBN: 1555830064Publication Date: 1994-10-01gay men imprisoned by the Nazis tell their stories
Same-Sex Love in India: Readings from Literature and History by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0312293240Publication Date: 2001-10-21also available in print, General Collection (3rd floor), call # PK5461 .S26 2001
Comprehensive collections:
Defining Documents in American History: LGBTQ+ (1923-2007) by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781682178942Publication Date: 2018-04-1135 primary documents dating to between 1923 and 2007- Gay American History: Lesbian and Gay Men in the U.S.A.: A Documentary by Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 K37 1976Publication Date: 1976 (1st ed.)This is a seminal collection of primary source documents on lesbian and gay history in the United States that date from 1528 through 1976. It is not a "documentary" but rather a collection of primary sources (or documents) divided into chapters: Trouble: 1566-1966; Treatment: 1884-1974; Passing Women: 1782-1920; Native Americans/Gay Americans: 1528-1976; Resistance: 1859-1972; and Love: 1779-1932. Katz's commentary reflects the community's immediate post-Stonewall concerns and his own political agenda. Users should therefore place his commentary into its proper historical context. This work is nonetheless highly valuable because it brings together in one place so many primary sources on gay and lesbian history in the United States.
Gay and Lesbian Rights in the United States: A Documentary History by Call Number: HQ76.8.U5 G37 2003ISBN: 0313306966Publication Date: 2003-09-30"The movement for gay and lesbian rights in America [from the early colonial period through 2000] is a response to long-held beliefs that have, at times throughout the history of the United States, made homosexuality legally, politically, and socially unacceptable. This collection of primary documents explores those beliefs and their counter-arguments, providing varying viewpoints on the complex issue of gay and lesbian rights. Personal testimonies, laws, opinion pieces, court cases, and other documents, dating from colonial times to the present day, encourage students to challenge their assumptions and strengthen critical thinking skills" (publisher).
Stonewall:
The Stonewall Riots: A Documentary History by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781479808519Publication Date: 2019
by Decade:
An Archive of Hope: Harvey Milk's Speeches and Writings by Call Number: F869.S357 M55 2013ISBN: 0520275489Publication Date: 2013-02-15"The volume opens with a foreword from Milk’s friend, political advisor, and speech writer Frank Robinson, who remembers the man who 'started as a Goldwater Republican and ended his life as the last of the store front politicians' who aimed to 'give ‘em hope' in his speeches. An illuminating introduction traces GLBTQ politics in San Francisco, situates Milk within that context, and elaborates the significance of his discourse and memories both to 1970s-era gay rights efforts and contemporary GLBTQ worldmaking" (publisher).- Familiar Faces, Hidden Lives: The Story of Homosexual Men In America Today by Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 B7 1976ISBN: 0151301492Publication Date: 1976-10-01gay men talk about their lives during the decade of the 1970s
- Jeb and Dash by Call Number: HQ75.8.A74 A3 1993ISBN: 0571198171Publication Date: 1993-12-01early-to-mid twentieth century life chronicled through the diary of a gay man in Washington, D.C.
Travels in a Gay Nation: Portraits of LGBTQ Americans by Call Number: HQ75.2 .G36 2010ISBN: 9780299236847Publication Date: 2010-06-3040 interviews with gays, lesbians, bisexuals, and transgender people in the United States during the mid-1990s
Books:
The AIDS Generation: Stories of Survival and Resilience by Call Number: RA643.83 .H35 2014ISBN: 9780199944972Publication Date: 2013-11-12"This book examines the strategies for survival and coping employed by these HIV-positive gay men, who together constitute the first generation of long-term survivors of the disease. Through interviews conducted by the author, it narrates the stories of gay men who have survived since the early days of the epidemic; documents and delineates the strategies and behaviors enacted by men of this generation to survive it; and examines the extent to which these approaches to survival inform and are informed by the broad body of literature on resilience and health."
HIV Pioneers: Lives Lost, Careers Changed, Survival by Call Number: RC607.A26 H5768 2018ISBN: 9781421425726Publication Date: 2018-07-02"Recounted in the first person, we hear differing experiences and perspectives from the historic first years of scientific research and naming of HIV [c1981]. Among the authors are clinicians who cared for the earliest patients, friends of those who died, epidemiologists who tracked the disease, behavioral psychologists, and a woman born with HIV..." (Choice).
Visions and Revisions: Coming of Age in the Age of AIDS by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781616954413Publication Date: 2015-04-07
Voices in the Band: A Doctor, Her Patients, and How the Outlook on AIDS Care Changed from Doomed to Hopeful by Call Number: Open Access E-BOOKISBN: 9780801453625Publication Date: 2015-04-22
Documentary:
We Were Here, an AIDS Documentary w/ Primary Interviews (Media Services, Call Number: DVD 6099; See the 4th Floor map of the library): "David Weissman's [2011 production] We Were Here revisits the San Francisco of the 80s and 90s, using the city's experience with AIDS to open up a conversation about both the history of the epidemic and the lessons to be learned from it. Yet the film reaches far beyond San Francisco and beyond AIDS itself as it illuminates the power of a community that comes together with love, compassion, and determination."
@Gitenstein Library:
Conversations with Audre Lorde by Call Number: PS3562.O75 Z64 2004ISBN: 1578066425Publication Date: 2004-06-01interviews with African American novelist and poet, librarian, and feminist
Female Fortune: Land, Gender, and Authority: The Anne Lister Diaries and Other Writings, 1833-36 by Call Number: HQ75.4.L57 A3 1998ISBN: 1854890891Publication Date: 1998-04-28remarkable early nineteenth century diaries from Great Britain
Gay Old Girls by Call Number: HQ75.6.U5 G47 1998ISBN: 1555834760Publication Date: 1998-11-01"Nine personal narratives of lesbian life in America in the 20th century. Although some of the memories here stretch back to the 1920s, most date from the repressive postwar years and describe the difficulties of finding community--let alone lovers--when there were no safe, established meeting places for gay people" (publisher).
The Lesbian History Sourcebook: Love and Sex Between Women in Britain From 1780 to 1970 by Call Number: HQ75.6.G7 L47 2001ISBN: 0415114853Publication Date: 2001-07-25primary sources on lesbian life in Great Britain from the late eighteenth century through 1970
The Lesbian Path by Call Number: HQ75.3 .L475 1985ISBN: 0912516968Publication Date: 1985-11-01personal narratives of lesbians living in the United States during the decade of the 1970s
Precious and Adored: The Love Letters of Rose Cleveland and Evangeline Simpson Whipple, 1890-1918 by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781681341293Publication Date: 2019-05-01- We're Here: Conversations with Lesbian Women by Call Number: HQ75.6.G7 C37 1977ISBN: 0704331179Publication Date: 1977interviews from Great Britain
Your John: The Love Letters of Radclyffe Hall by Call Number: PR6015.A33 Z494 1997ISBN: 0814730922Publication Date: 1997-01-01letters written by author Hall to Evguenia Souline, 1934-1942
@Internet Archive:
Baby Precious Always Shines: Selected Love Notes Between Gerttude Stein and Alice B. Toklas by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0312198329Publication Date: 1999-12-21
@other libraries:
Dear Tiny Heart: The Letters of Jane Heap and Florence Reynolds by ISBN: 081479856XPublication Date: 1999-11-01correspondence between two prominent American lesbians, 1908-1949
request through interlibrary loan (ILL)
I'll Stand by You by ISBN: 0712673717Publication Date: 1998-06-30correspondence between British author Warner and her lover beginning in 1927
request through Interlibrary loan (ILL)
LGBTQ Fiction and Poetry from Appalachia by Call Number: PS508.G39 L43 2019ISBN: 9781946684929Publication Date: 2019-04-01
QDA: A Queer Disability Anthology by Call Number: PN6071.H724 Q37 2015ISBN: 9781941960028Publication Date: 2015-11-12
Same-Sex Desire in Early Modern England, 1550-1735 by Call Number: PR428.H66 S26 2014ISBN: 9780719082078Publication Date: 2014-02-28"Balancing long-overlooked and well-known works from early modern England," this anthology collects "English texts about homoerotic love, relationships, desires, and sexual acts. The anthology's core texts are selections from works of drama, fiction, romance, poetry, essays and translation" (publisher).
Sovereign Erotics: A Collection of Two-Spirit Literature by Call Number: PS509.H57 S68 2011ISBN: 9780816502424Publication Date: 2011-10-01Native American literary collection
Sweeter Voices Still: An LGBTQ Anthology from Middle America by Call Number: HQ73 .S94 2020ISBN: 9781948742818Publication Date: 2021-01-12
Windy City Queer: LGBTQ Dispatches from the Third Coast by Call Number: PS508.G39 W56 2011ISBN: 9780299284039Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Ask and Tell: Gay and Lesbian Veterans Speak Out by Call Number: UB418.G38 E77 2007ISBN: 0807831158Publication Date: 2007-05-14oral histories from veterans of major U.S. wars beginning with World War II
Gay Warriors: A Documentary History from the Ancient World to the Present by Call Number: UH630 .G39 2002ISBN: 0814798853Publication Date: 2001-12-01Contains chapters on The classical world -- Amazons -- The medieval templars -- Eighteenth-century warriors -- Britain and the wars against Napoleon -- Nineteenth-century Americans at war -- The U.S. Navy after World War I -- World War II -- The Cold War to the age of Clinton.
We Are Everywhere: A Historical Sourcebook of Gay and Lesbian Politics by Call Number: HQ76 .W33 1997ISBN: 0415908590Publication Date: 1997-02-07primary sources dating from the late eighteenth century to the AIDS crisis
Published since 2010:
Blind to Sameness: Sexpectations and the Social Construction of Male and Female Bodies by Call Number: BF692.2 .F75 2013ISBN: 9780226023465Publication Date: 2013-07-15interviews with transgender people
Suture: Trauma and Trans Becoming by Call Number: Open Access E-BOOKISBN: 9781685710149Publication Date: 2021-11-11memoirs
Trans Voices: Becoming Who You Are by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781784505202Publication Date: 2017-01-19"Drawing on over one hundred interviews with individuals, this book is a complilation of the voices of those who have decided to undergo transition - both male-to-female and female-to-male" (publisher).
Voguing and the House Ballroom Scene of New York, 1989-92 by Call Number: GV1783.2.V64 R43 2011ISBN: 9780955481765Publication Date: 2011-12-31interviews plus hundreds of photos from the 1980s ball culture in New York City
Published between 2000 and 2009:
The Riddle of Gender: Science, Activism, and Transgender Rights by Call Number: HQ77.95.U6 R83 2005ISBN: 0375421629Publication Date: 2005-02-22interviews with transgender people
Transgender Voices: Beyond Women and Men by Call Number: HQ77.7 .G57 2008ISBN: 1584656832Publication Date: 2009-06-30"In this extraordinary book, based on 150 in-depth interviews, Lori B. Girshick, a sociologist and social justice activist, brings together the voices of sex- and gender-diverse people who speak with absolute candor about their lives" (publisher).
Transpeople: Repudiation, Trauma, Healing by Call Number: HQ77.9 .S54 2008ISBN: 9780802097842Publication Date: 2008-08-24"Shelley's study of discrimination and acceptance uses an interdisciplinary approach that includes in-depth interviews with ten male-to-female and ten female-to-male transpeople, along with psychological, feminist, and political theory" (publisher).
Published before 2000:
- Canary: The Story of a Transsexual by Call Number: RC560.C4 C66ISBN: 084021345XPublication Date: 1974-01-01personal narratives from Los Angeles during the early 1970s
- Conundrum by Call Number: CT788.M637 A33ISBN: 015122563XPublication Date: 1974-04-01"Conundrum, one of the earliest books to discuss transsexuality with honesty and without prurience, tells the story of James Morris’s [born 1926] hidden life and how he decided to bring it into the open..." (publisher)
- The Man-Maid Doll by Call Number: RC560.C4 M6ISBN: 0818401583Publication Date: 1973-09-01early personal narratives