The Open Web
Are you looking beyond the books, databases, and other vetted resources available through our library? If so, check out my Google and Website Evaluation libguides. Use them, respectively, to leverage Google for academic research and for guidance on how to evaluate information found on the open web.
Humanities Librarian
David C. Murray
he/him/his
https://orcid.org/0000-0001-5787-2609
Contact:
TCNJ Library,
Room 216
Room 216
609-771-3217
Reference Shelf
Use two library databases—LION and LRC—to find bio-bibliographical information about known women authors/writers. Also use these databases to choose a writer to research.
- Literature Online (LION)
- Search Author Pages for a known author.
- Browse > Authors > Female / Nationality (e.g., Nigerian)
- Browse > Literary Movements > Feminist Writers, 1900-
- Browse > Literary Periods > Twenty-Frist Century, 2000-
- Literature Resource Center (LRC)
- Perform a Person Search for a known author.
- Browse Topics:
- Post-apartheid Literature
- Postcolonial African Literature
- Postcolonial Literature: Africa and Asia
- Postcolonialism
- Women & Feminism
The single-title reference works listed below also provide credible background information about global women writers:
The Cambridge Companion to Modernist Women Writers by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780521515054Publication Date: 2010-09-23"Women played a central role in literary modernism, theorizing, debating, writing, and publishing the critical and imaginative work that resulted in a new literary culture during the early twentieth century. This volume provides a thorough overview of the main genres, the important issues, and the key figures in women's writing during the years 1890-1945" (book jacket).
The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0521495253Publication Date: 1999-09-30The focus of this work's 2,500 entries is the British Commonwealth and Postcolonial literature. Contains an A-Z list of entries on individual writers, texts, terms, genres, and movements. Also available in print, Reference Collection, Call # PR111 .S24 1999. From the book jacket: "This guide celebrates the twentieth-century achievements of women writers across the English-speaking world as well as all the centuries before."
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0816060401Publication Date: 2006-05-01"This reference includes substantial alphabetically arranged entries on nearly 70 women writers whose works are widely read in English. While most of these women are from England and America, the volume also profiles Chilean, Brazilian, Indian, South African, Australian, French, and German authors" (book jacket).
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English by Call Number: PR9080.A52 E53 2005ISBN: 0415278856Publication Date: 2005-04-07The 2nd edition of this 3 volume set contains numerous entries of interest including, for example, Women's Writing in Singapore (p. 1656) and Women's Writing in South Africa (p. 1658).
Encyclopedia of Women's Autobiography by Call Number: HQ1185 .E63 2005ISBN: 0313327378Publication Date: 2005-08-30"Contains nearly two hundred alphabetically arranged entries that provide information on women's autobiography, covering selected authors from throughout history, major works, nationalities or ethnicities, and related issues, themes, and terms" (book jacket).
