Find Even More Books
These Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) reveal more books about...
- ExhibitionsNarrow your results by adding another keyword (or search term) to the second box of the Advanced search interface (e.g., design, evaluation, handbooks, and philosophy).
- MuseumsNarrow your results by adding another keyword (or search term) to the second box of the Advanced search interface (e.g., collection management, curatorship, designs and plans, educational aspects, management, and moral and ethical aspects).
Exhibition Labels
Exhibit Labels: An Interpretive Approach by Call Number: AM157 .S46 2015ISBN: 9781442249028Publication Date: 2015-06-04
Making Exhibit Labels: A Step-By-Step Guide by Call Number: AM157 .S47 1982ISBN: 0910050643Publication Date: 1983-02-01classic; recommended by Margaret Pezalla-Granlund, Director, TCNJ Art Gallery and The Sarnoff Collection
Reference Book
- The Official Museum DirectoryCall Number: AM10.A2 O4Publication Date: current ed.Published by the American Association of Museums since 1971, this classic reference work, published annually, provides information about museums across the United States and Canada. Organizations are listed alphabetically by state and then locality. There are hundreds of entries for New Jersey.
Selected Gitenstein Library Books and E-Books
In this box, find books about:
- Design and evaluation of exhibitions + public relations in museums
- Economic aspects of art museums
- Educational and social aspects, philosophy of exhibitions and museums
- Exhibition and curation companions/handbooks (reference works)
- Management of art galleries and museums
- Minoritized populations and museums
- Psychological aspects of art museums
- Technological innovations in exhibitions
Design and evaluation of exhibitions + public relations in museums
Engaging Diverse Communities: A Guide to Museum Public Relations by Call Number: AM124 .J64 2020ISBN: 9781613767870Publication Date: 2020-11-27
Exhibition Design by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9782940411382Publication Date: 2010-12-29
Practical Evaluation Guide: Tool for Museums and Other Informal Educational Settings by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOK (Coming Summer 2023)ISBN: 9781442263550Publication Date: 2016 (3rd ed.)
Museums and Wealth: The Politics of Contemporary Art Collections by Call Number: N470 .S53 2022ISBN: 9781350045750Publication Date: 2022-02-10
Art Museum Education: Facilitating Gallery Experiences by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781137412874Publication Date: 2015-10-12
A Companion to Museum Studies by Call Number: AM7 .C59 2006ISBN: 1405108398Publication Date: 2006-04-21
Defining Memory: Local Museums and the Construction of History in America's Changing Communities by Call Number: E172 .D44 2017ISBN: 9781538107874Publication Date: 2017-10-20
Museums Inside Out: Artist Collaborations and New Exhibition Ecologies by Call Number: N72.A77 R44 2020ISBN: 9781517908249Publication Date: 2020-01-28
Thinking Contemporary Curating by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780916365868Publication Date: 2012-10-31This book approaches contemporary curating from a broader perspective than curator-as-exhibition-maker. It tackles, for example, the philosophy of exhibition curating among other topics.
Using Museums As an Educational Resource: An Introductory Handbook for Students and Teachers by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781409401452Publication Date: 2010-10-28
A Companion to Curation by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781119206859Publication Date: 2020-01-29
The Curator's Handbook: Museums, Commercial Galleries, Independent Spaces by Call Number: N4395 .G47 2015ISBN: 9780500239285Publication Date: 2015-08-11A practical handbook covering all aspects of museum curation and exhibition.
Great Exhibits: An Exhibit Planning and Construction Handbook For Small Museums by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781442270756Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Organizing Exhibitions: A Handbook for Museums, Libraries and Archives by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781856049450Publication Date: 2014This handbook covers all areas of exhibition planning and includes two chapters titled, "Copyright: What is Copyright?" and "How Does Copyright Affect Exhibitions?"
Art and Its Publics: Museum Studies at the Millennium by Call Number: N435 .A78 2003ISBN: 0631230475Publication Date: 2003-04-11
Management of Art Galleries (3rd ed.) by Call Number: N470 .R4713 2018ISBN: 9780714877754Publication Date: 2018-07-13
Manual of Museum Planning: Sustainable Space, Facilities, and Operations by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780759121478Publication Date: 2012-04-01This e-book is concerned primarily with the management and planning of museums.
Museum Collections Management: A Handbook by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781856048699Publication Date: 2011This manual addresses questions related to collections management including administration, contracts and economic aspects, display and care of objects, museum techniques, etc.
Museum Management: Opportunities and Threats for Successful Museums by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9783030820275Publication Date: 2021-11-12
Cataloguing Culture: Legacies of Colonialism in Museum Documentation by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 0774863935Publication Date: 2022-03-22
Curating America's Painful Past: Memory, Museums, and the National Imagination by Call Number: E175.4 .G78 2021ISBN: 9780700632398Publication Date: 2021-07-28
Exhibiting Blackness: African Americans and the American Art Museum by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781558498754Publication Date: 2011-09-30
Interpreting African American History and Culture at Museums and Historic Sites by Call Number: E185.53.A1 I58 2015ISBN: 9780759122789Publication Date: 2014-12-24
Misrepresenting Black Africa in American Museums by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 0367194546Publication Date: 2019-11-26
Negotiating Race and Rights in the Museum by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780367435677Publication Date: 2021
Negro Building: Black Americans in the World of Fairs and Museums by Call Number: E185.53.A1 W55 2012ISBN: 9780520268425Publication Date: 2012-05-28
Queers Online: LGBT Digital Practices in Libraries, Archives, and Museums by Call Number: Z688.S47 Q44 2015ISBN: 9781936117796Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The Routledge Companion to Art and Disability by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781003009986Publication Date: 2022-03-30I recommend students consult this reference work before conducting research on art and disability. "This book will be particularly useful for scholars in art history, disability studies, visual culture, and museum studies" (book jacket).
Understanding and Implementing Inclusion in Museums by Call Number: AM11 .C59 2018ISBN: 9781538110515Publication Date: 2018-04-09
Grief and Grievance: Art and Mourning in America by Call Number: N8217.B535 G75 2020ISBN: 9781838661298Publication Date: 2020-12-16This exhibition catalog explores the psychological aspects of race relations in America.
Hack the Experience: Tools for Artists From Cognitive Science by Call Number: Open Access E-BOOKISBN: 9781947447653Publication Date: 2018-09-04"Hack The Experience will reframe your perspective on how your audience engages your work. This will happen as you learn how to control attention through spatial and time-based techniques that you can harness as you build immersive installations or as you think about how to best arrange your work in an exhibition" (book jacket).
A Pedagogy of Witnessing: Curatorial Practice and the Pursuit of Social Justice by Call Number: D16.163 .S555 2014ISBN: 9781438452692Publication Date: 2014-08-01This book considers the psychological aspects of social justice in museum curatorship and exhibitions.- Shows of Force: Power, Politics, and Ideology in Art Exhibitions by Call Number: N72.P6 L84 1992ISBN: 0822311887Publication Date: 1992-03-01Dated but still useful, this book by Timothy Luke (Ph.D., political science) contends that the meaning of a work of art resides in how it is exhibited. It deals with the political and psychological aspects of art exhibitions.
Telling Stories of Pain and Hope: Museums in South Africa and Ireland by Call Number: Coming Fall 2024ISBN: 9781032759814Publication Date: 2024-06-07"The primary focus of the book is the way in which museum guides, curators and managers share their stories and the stories of their ancestors, and the stories of other people's ancestors..." (book jacket).
Digital Collections and Exhibits by Call Number: Z717 .D39 2015ISBN: 9781442243750Publication Date: 2015-07-22
Digital Technologies and the Museum Experience: Handheld Guides and Other Media by Call Number: AM7 .D53 2008ISBN: 9780759111196Publication Date: 2008-08-28
The Routledge International Handbook of New Digital Practices in Galleries, Libraries, Archives, Museums and Heritage Sites by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 0429506767Publication Date: 2019-10-29
