LibGuides: Art Exhibitions and Museums: Find Articles

Find Articles

The following TCNJ Library databases uncover periodical literature (e.g., scholarly journals, trade publications, and general-interest magazines) in art history and related fields.

Art Abstracts
From the homepage of the database, copy/paste any of the following into the blank search box:

SU "Exhibitions"
SU "Exhibitions -- Design & construction"
SU "Exhibitions -- History"
SU "Museums"
SU "Museum exhibits"
SU "Museum techniques"

Several of these searches reveal citations to thousands of articles and other resources. Narrow your results by adding another search term (i.e., keyword) in the second box (of the Advanced Search interface): decolonizing, fashion, "modern art", and pottery. Be creative with your choice of keywords!

Or try searching by medium:

SU "Painting exhibitions"
SU "Pottery exhibitions"
SU "Sculpture exhibitions"
more...less...
(1984-) Art Full Text provides citations to periodical articles plus reproductions of works of art appearing in those articles. Also includes some yearbooks and museum bulletins. Covers art and related disciplines, e.g., fine and applied art, art history, archaeology, architecture, photography.
Humanities Full Text
Use the same subject terms listed above to find additional citations to articles and other secondary sources.
more...less...
(Indexing & Abstracting, 1982-; earliest Full Text from 1995.) Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text for periodical articles and reviews from English language periodicals. Subjects include archaeology, classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language, literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.
JSTOR
The premier journal archive, JSTOR does not permit subject searches. To search JSTOR for articles about art exhibitions and curating, click on Advanced Search. On the resulting page scroll down to Art & Art History and check the box next to it. Use the blank search box(es) at the top of the page to find articles about your topic in scholarly, peer-reviewed art journals. Enter phrases such as "museum exhibits" or "museum exhibitions" into the first search box. Combine this with a second relevant search term (e.g., design) in the second search box.
more...less...
Earliest Full Text from the Late 1800s.) A full text, full image archive of over 120 journals. Coverage of journals generally begins with their first volume and is updated to within three years of the current issue. Allows keyword searching of the full text of all articles, as well as browsing of particular journal issues. Subject strengths are African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics/finance, general science, history, literature, math/statistics, philosophy, political science, population/demography, and sociology.
Project MUSE
Works similarly to JSTOR, but after clicking Advanced Search from the home screen select Art and Architecture from the Areas box in the left-hand column.
more...less...
(Dates vary from 1995-present) Access to the full text of more than 100 journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from Johns Hopkins University Press and other publishers.