And Then There Is...
Is It Peer Reviewed (Scholarly)?
Already found an article and want to know if the journal is academic or scholarly?
Check here:
Look for the tiny referee shirt in the table next to the journal name or check under "content type"."
Journal Articles
My recommended databases for finding journal articles:
Sociological Abstracts
The most comprehensive database for sociology research. It includes almost exclusively peer reviewed journals.
Social Sciences Full Text (Wilson Web)
Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles in over 350 leading English language periodicals in a broad array of the social sciences. Subject coverage includes anthropology, criminology, law, political science, psychology, sociology and women's studies.
GenderWatch
Provides fulltext collection of international academic journals, magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, reports, papers and proceedings devoted to women’s and gender issues. Free text searching and complete indexing are available.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides fulltext collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes news, editorials, reviews, culture and history from 200 publications. Searchable in both English and Spanish.
JSTOR
Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Doesn't include the current 3 years of the journals.
OmniFile Full-Text
Another multidisciplinary database, mostly full-text Includes both peer reviewed journals and popular magazines.
EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier
Large full text collection. Covers a variety of topics across many disciplines. You can limit your results to scholarly articles./p>
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media
The CQ Press Electronic Library (starting point)
Focuses on a specific topic in every issue. Each report is 25-30 pages long and includes a pro/con discussions about the issue topic as well as numerous color illustrations. Both publications can be searched simultaneously.
PAIS International
Indexes and provides citations and abstracts from the public and social policy literature of business, economics, education, health, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences. Materials indexed are from all over the world and include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, conference proceedings, and research reports. Most records since 1985 include an abstract.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations with abstracts to the literature of political science and related fields such as international relations, law, public administration and public policy. It indexes over 1,200 journals from the international serials literature.