Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry: Databases

This Guide is to help you find chemistry resources

Chemistry Databases

Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder)

Covers Chemical Abstracts' databases such as CAplus from 1907 to the present. It also includes the PubMed database. It is the premier database for searching the chemical literature and patents.  This database also provides access to key journals in the sciences and engineering including those in Elsevier’s ScienceDirect.  Apart from coverage in all areas of chemistry and chemical engineering, it includes chemical aspect in Agricultural Sciences, Biology and Life Science, Engineering, Food Sciences, Geological Sciences, Material Sciences, Medical Sciences, Physics and Polymer Sciences.

Unlike other databases at TCNJ, SciFinder Web requires pre-registration to obtain an ID and PW. 

Click the self registration link for registration which is limited to TCNJ students and faculty.

Science Direct

Access is provided to the full text of over 600 titles published by Elsevier. Coverage is primarily in the chemical, biological, and health sciences, but journals from the social sciences are also included.

Cambridge Structural Database

Contains crystal structure information, chemical and bibliographic data for about 500000 organic and metal-organic compounds 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is an uncurated collection of scholarly publications with undefined collection boundaries but often very useful in identifying a complete citation or providing full text of an article to which TCNJ does not access.  Google Scholar also may link out to the full text even if TCNJ does subscribe to the publication.