Don't miss...
the English libguide.
Humanities Librarian
https://orcid.org/0000-0001-5787-2609Room 216
Selected Reference
Go-to library databases for obtaining bio-bibliographical information about Asian American authors:
- Literature Online
- Search Author Pages for a known author.
- Browse > Authors > Asian-American
- Literature Resource Center
- Perform a Person Search for a known author.
- Person Search > Ethnicity > Asian American
- Browse Topics > Cultural Identity > Asian American Literature > Biographies
The titles below also provide credible background information about Asian American authors. Some, in addition, contain lists of authors' primary works as well as reviews and scholarly criticisms about those primary works.
Asian American Writers [Dictionary of Literary Biography] by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780787681302Publication Date: 2005-04-15also available in print, Reference Collection, call # PS129 .D47 v.312
Asian American Literature: An Annotated Bibliography by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 087352960XPublication Date: 1988-01-01This dated bibliography could be useful for students of Asian American literature written before 1988. Also available in print, Reference Collection, call # PS153.A84 C4 1988.
Autobiographers:
Asian American Autobiographers: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 9780313016769Publication Date: 2001-05-30
Dramatists:
Asian American Playwrights: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0313314551Publication Date: 2002-05-30also available in print, Reference Collection (1st floor), call # PS338.A74 A9 2002
Novelists:
Asian American Novelists: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0313309116Publication Date: 2000-02-28also available in print, Reference Collection (1st floor), call # PS153.A84 A825 2000
Poets:
Asian American Poets: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook by Call Number: PS153.A84 A826 2002ISBN: 0313318093Publication Date: 2002-05-30 (print only)
Short story writers:
Asian American Short Story Writers: An A-to-Z Guide by Call Number: PS153.A84 A828 2003ISBN: 0313322295Publication Date: 2003-06-30
A companion is a "a handbook intended to be used in connection with the study of a particular subject or field" (ODLIS). Companions provide introductory essays and topic overviews.
Companions:
The Cambridge Companion to Asian American Literature by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781107095175Publication Date: 2015-08-20also available in print, General Collection, Call # PS153.A84 C35 2015
The Cambridge Companion to the Literature of Los Angeles by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780521514705Publication Date: 2010-05-06also available in print, General Collection, Call # PS285.L7 C36 2010
The Routledge Companion to Asian American and Pacific Islander Literature by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780415642484Publication Date: 2014-06-17
Handbook:
A Resource Guide to Asian American Literature by Call Number: PS153.A84 R47 2001ISBN: 0873522710Publication Date: 2001-01-01 (print only)
An encyclopedia is "a book or numbered set of books containing authoritative summary information about a variety of topics in the form of short essays, usually arranged alphabetically by headword or classified in some manner. An entry may be signed or unsigned, with or without illustration or a list of references for further reading" (ODLIS).
Dictionary:
Historical Dictionary of Asian American Literature and Theater by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780810873940Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Encyclopedias:
Asian American Literature: an Encyclopedia for Students by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781440872891Publication Date: 2021-08-25
Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 081606086XPublication Date: 2007-08-01also available in print, Reference Collection (1st floor), call # PS153.A84 O37 2007
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature by Call Number: PS153.A84 G74 2009ISBN: 9780313341571Publication Date: 2008-12-30 (print only)
