LibGuides: Artists' Books: Find Articles

Find Articles

Find following TCNJ Library databases reveal journal literature in art history and related fields.

Art Abstracts
From the database homepage, copy/paste the following into the blank search box: DE Artists' books. This search will reveal nearly 700 articles and other source types about artists' books. To narrow this list, perform the same search from the Advanced search screen, but this time add another term in the second search box such as appropriation, publishing, or "pop art".
more...less...
(1984-) Art Full Text provides citations to periodical articles plus reproductions of works of art appearing in those articles. Also includes some yearbooks and museum bulletins. Covers art and related disciplines, e.g., fine and applied art, art history, archaeology, architecture, photography.
Humanities Full Text
The same search as above, DE "Artists' books", reveals citations to over 40 articles and other secondary sources in this database of Humanities-related publications.
more...less...
(Indexing & Abstracting, 1982-; earliest Full Text from 1995.) Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text for periodical articles and reviews from English language periodicals. Subjects include archaeology, classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language, literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.
JSTOR
The premier journal archive, JSTOR does not permit subject searches like the above databases. To search JSTOR for articles about artists' books, click on Advanced Search, scroll down the resulting page to the list of academic disciplines, and then click the box next to Art & Art History. Use the blank search box(es) at the top of the page to find articles about artists' books in scholarly, peer-reviewed art journals. Again, try searching for the phrase "artists' books" in combination with another term.
more...less...
Earliest Full Text from the Late 1800s.) A full text, full image archive of over 120 journals. Coverage of journals generally begins with their first volume and is updated to within three years of the current issue. Allows keyword searching of the full text of all articles, as well as browsing of particular journal issues. Subject strengths are African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics/finance, general science, history, literature, math/statistics, philosophy, political science, population/demography, and sociology.
Project MUSE
Works similarly to JSTOR, but after clicking Advanced Search from the home screen select Art and Architecture from the Areas box in the left-hand column.
more...less...
(Dates vary from 1995-present) Access to the full text of more than 100 journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from Johns Hopkins University Press and other publishers.