Chicago Manual of Style
The Chicago Manual of Style Online (16th and 17th eds.) by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05Historians employ the "notes and a bibliography" sub-style of Chicago almost exclusively. Scholars in other disciplines often use the author-date sub-style. CMS online, licensed by our library, allows for easier search and retrieval of relevant sections and examples. Access the printed CMS, 17th ed., at the Reference Desk, 1st floor of Gitenstein Library.
Citing Primary Sources
Evidence Explained: Citing History Sources From Artifacts to Cyberspace by Call Number: D5 .M55 2015ISBN: 0806317817Publication Date: 2015An excellent supplement to the CMSO, this book focuses on the proper citation of archival and other primary sources.
Annotated Bibliographies (help creating)
Check out What is An Annotated Bibliography?, a brief (2-minute) video from the folks at the Kimbel Library, Coastal Carolina University. Michael Engle, Librarian at Cornell University Library, authored How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography. It is simple but effective. Helpful too is Purdue Owl's Annotated Bibliographies guide.
- On Compiling an Annotated Bibliography by Call Number: Z1001 .H33 2000ISBN: 0873529790Publication Date: 2000-01-01This slim volume is designed less for students than for authors of book-length annotated bibliographies. If interested, locate this book in the Reference Stacks (1st Floor), Gitenstein Library.
RefWorks
Manage your citations with RefWorks, a library database for easily importing, exporting, searching, and creating bibliographies in hundreds of styles including MLA, Chicago, Turabian, and APA. Citations to articles found in library databases can be imported directly into RefWorks. No manual entry required!