Challenges in Researching Afghanistan
- Variant spellings
- Foreign languages
- Diacritical marks
- Obtaining material
- Multi- and Inter-disciplinarity
- Bias or perspective
LC Subject Headings
Find Books
Perform Advanced searches in the library's discovery service (i.e., main search interface) to find books about Afghanistan. Examples:
- [Subject contains] Afghanistan AND [Subject contains] history
- [Subject contains] Afghanistan AND [Any field contains] (women OR feminism OR gender)
- [Subject contains] Afghanistan AND [Subject contains] (correspondence OR diaries OR narratives OR sources) — Note that this search will locate books and e-books with primary sources.
- WorldCatGitenstein Library database
WorldCat allows students and other researchers to find books held by local academic and public libraries and thousands of libraries in the U.S.
Featured Books and E-Books
Afghanistan War: a Documentary and Reference Guide by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781440857478Publication Date: 2018-10-01
The History of Afghanistan (in 4 vols.) by
"The Sirāj al-tawārīkh is the most important history of Afghanistan ever written. It was commissioned as an official national history by the Afghan prince, later amir, Habib Allah Khan (reigned 1901-1919). The author, Fayz Muhammad Khan, better known as “Katib” (The Writer), was a scribe at the royal court. For more than twenty years, he had full access to government archives and oral sources and thus presents an unparalleled picture of the country from its founding in 1747 until the end of the nineteenth century. The roots of much of the fabric of Afghanistan’s society today—tribe and state relations, the rule of law, gender issues, and the economy—are elegantly and minutely detailed in this immense work. This set comprises the complete volumes 1-4 (in 11 parts) of the Sirāj al-tawārīkh."
Call Number: DS356 .K3313 2013ISBN: 9789004234918Publication Date: 2012-12-19
A History of Islamic Societies by Call Number: DS35.63 .L37 2014ISBN: 9780521514309Publication Date: 2014-10-13 (3rd ed.)
Kabul: a History 1773-1948 by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9789004325326Publication Date: 2016-11-15
