HIS 180: African American History: 1865 to Present: Find Articles

(1964-) Abstracts of articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including state and local history journals and selected journals in the social sciences and humanities. In addition to articles, includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in US and Canadian history and related fields each year. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas. Each entry in the database is assigned appropriate indexing terms based on standard authorities. Every year approximately 16,000 new entries are added to the America: History and Life database.

(Mid 1970s-) A primarily fulltext collection of international academic journals, magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, reports, papers and proceedings devoted to women’s and gender issues. Free text searching and complete indexing are available. (This is a VALE Database.)

The publications covered by GenderWatch focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of disciplines including history. Like its companion database, Ethnic NewsWatch, it provides access to some primary source material (narrow results by Document type after running your search).

(Earliest Full Text from the Late 1800s.) A full text, full image archive of over 120 journals. Coverage of journals generally begins with their first volume and is updated to within three years of the current issue. Allows keyword searching of the full text of all articles, as well as browsing of particular journal issues. Subject strengths are African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics/finance, general science, history, literature, math/statistics, philosophy, political science, population/demography, and sociology.

(1992 – ) A full text database, international in scope, to newsletters, fact sheets, guides, research reports, and journals. Covers a wide range of gender issues including health, violence, education, law, economics, human rights, and so forth.

(Dates vary.) Includes full text and abstracts to English and American poetry, drama, and prose from 600 to the present. Also includes literary criticism, biographical information, and Webster’s Unabridged Dictionary.

Literature Resource Center is an online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Its coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world.

(Dates vary from 1995-present) Access to the full text of more than 100 journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from Johns Hopkins University Press and other publishers.