Introduction + Featured Reference Works
Use this guide to complete your research. For additional sources and search tips, see the History libguide. If you would like to meet with me about your research just click on the Schedule Research Consultation button in the right-hand column.
A good place to begin any research project is with a reference book (see a few examples below). Use reference books to track down background information; choose and/or refine your research topic; identify disciplinary terms, an important consideration in "keyword" searches of databases such as JSTOR; and quickly locate autobiographies as well as high-impact secondary monographs.
Bio-bibliography:
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography by
This is the standard reference work for British biography. Find female life writers including those who wrote about conflict and war by clicking on Advanced search > Occupations > Writing and publishing > non-fiction. Select from autobiographer, diarist, or letter-writer. Now click "Female" under Sex. Finally, under Term, search for "war" or a related term.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 019861411XPublication Date: 2004-09-23
Women Writers of the First World War: an Annotated Bibliography by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 1134946015Publication Date: 2002-01-22English authors only (e.g., Vera Brittain)
Encyclopedias:
Encyclopedia of Women's Autobiography by Call Number: HQ1185 .E63 2005ISBN: 0313327378Publication Date: 2005-08-30
Women and War: A Historical Encyclopedia from Antiquity to the Present by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 1851097708Publication Date: 2006-05-19Also available in print, Reference Collection (1st floor), call # U24 .W69 2006.
Handbooks:
Handbook of Autobiography / Autofiction by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9783110279818Publication Date: 2019-01-29
The Routledge International Handbook on Narrative and Life History by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781138784291Publication Date: 2016-11-02
Methodology, Study and teaching:
Research Methodologies for Auto/biography Studies by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780429288432Publication Date: 2019-06-03
Featured
Women and the Autobiographical Impulse: A History by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 1350237612Publication Date: 2023-10-05
Humanities Librarian
David C. Murray
https://orcid.org/0000-0001-5787-2609
Contact:
TCNJ Library,
Room 216
Room 216
609-771-3217