Essential Whitman Biographies
These Whitman biographies are recommended by TCNJ English professors Michael Robertson, author of Worshipping Walt: The Whitman Disciples; and David Blake, author of Walt Whitman and the Culture of American Celebrity. Together they edited Walt Whitman, Where the Future Becomes Present.
The Better Angel: Walt Whitman in the Civil War by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0195124820Publication Date: 2000-07-27also available in print, General Collection (3rd floor), call # PS3232 .M67 2000
Re-Scripting Walt Whitman: An Introduction to His Life and Work by Call Number: PS3231 .F65 2005ISBN: 9781405118064Publication Date: 2005-08-29
Walt Whitman's America: A Cultural Biography by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0394580230Publication Date: 1995-03-28also available in print, General Collection (3rd floor), call # PS3231 .R48 1995
Walt Whitman: A Gay Life by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0525943730Publication Date: 1997-09-01also available in print, General Collection (3rd floor), call # PS3232 .S36 1997
Walt Whitman: A Life by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0671225421Publication Date: 1980-11-01also available in print, General Collection (3rd floor), call # PS3231 .K3
Walt Whitman: The Making of the Poet by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0465090591Publication Date: 1984-04-18also available in print, General Collection (3rd floor), call # PS3231 .Z87 1984
Walt Whitman: The Song of Himself by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0520214277Publication Date: 1999-03-11also available in print, General Collection (3rd floor), call # PS3231 .L68 1999
