In MLA International Bibliography, copy/paste the following search term (or keyword) into the blank search box: DE "short story". (Note that DE restricts the search term to the Descriptor field.) Now click the green Search button to retrieve over 54,000 results! Narrow your search by adding a second (or third) term: DE "short story" AND "science fiction" AND "Harlan Ellison".
Alternatively, click on MLA Thesaurus from the blue bar at the top of the database's homepage. In the Browsing: box, type short story. Click on "short story" from the resulting list to display details. Check the box(es) next to your preferred term(s)—Broader or Narrower—and then click the Add button. Now click the green Search button to retrieve more targeted results.
MLAIB is the go-to abstracting and indexing database for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Also good for rhetoric, composition, and film. Students looking for peer-reviewed journal articles (i.e., scholarly criticism) about a literary figure or primary literary work should begin here. Also indexes books, book chapters, dissertations, translations, and even websites. Easily link from citations in MLAIB to the full-text article in JSTOR, Project MUSE, etc. The earliest citations date from the late nineteenth century.
(Dates vary.) Includes full text and abstracts to English and American poetry, drama, and prose from 600 to the present. Also includes literary criticism, author biographies, guides to major literary works, thousands of primary texts of poetry, prose, and drama, and Webster’s Unabridged Dictionary.
Literature Resource Center is an online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Its coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world.
(Earliest Full Text from the Late 1800s.) A full text, full image journal archive. Coverage of journals generally begins with their first volume and is updated to within three-to-five years of the current issue. Allows keyword searching of the full text of all articles, as well as browsing of particular journal issues. Subject strengths are African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics/finance, general science, history, literature, math/statistics, philosophy, political science, population/demography, and sociology.
(Dates vary from 1995-present) Access to the full text of more than 100 journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from Johns Hopkins University Press and other publishers. Complements rather than competes with JSTOR in that combined the two databases provide maximum chronological coverage.
(Indexing & Abstracting, 1982-; earliest Full Text from 1995.) Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text for periodical articles and reviews from English language periodicals. Subjects include archaeology, classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language, literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.
This database includes a mix of secondary literary criticism with traditional reference material including plot summaries and biographies. Also incorporates reviews, primary source author interviews, poems, and short stories forward.
(Date: various) specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community college and undergraduates. Includes plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, short stories, author interviews, classic texts.
The peer-reviewed Studies in Short Fiction (1963-1999, and 2012) published "essays, short notes and reviews devoted exclusively to serious commentary on short fiction."
Need to know if the library has an article? Search here for the journal title.
If the library cannot make the article available immediately, request it via our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.