R. Barbara Gitenstein Library Homepage
Ask a Librarian
Subject Guide
Locating an Article
TCNJ Journal Holdings
Consult the list of thousands of journals available in a variety of formats, including electronic, print, and microform.
Interlibrary Loan
If the Library does not subscribe or provide electronic access to a journal title containing an article you are interested in reading, you may request a copy of it through our Interlibrary Loan service.
Clinical Reference
- Nursing Reference Center PlusA comprehensive clinical reference resource for nursing students, faculty, and nurse educators. It contains a wide variety of evidence-based reference material on thousands of clinical topics, and includes quick-reference sheets, nursing care plans, nursing skills videos, patient education handouts, and continuing education material, as well as access to select reference books.
UpToDate
- UpToDate is a special clinical resource that requires a separate (and easy and free) signup. Instructions here.
Nursing and Health Sciences Databases
- Health Source - Nursing EditionHealth Source: Academic/Nursing Edition covers nursing and allied health topics, including nutrition, pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more. It provides full-text coverage for over 100 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for more than 900 publications. Access is provided courtesy of the New Jersey State Library.
- PubMedProvides access to MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's databases of bibliographic citations and abstracts for the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems and preclinical sciences. Also provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR). The CDSR is a well-known, reputable source of evidence-based, systematic reviews of the effects healthcare interventions.
- Evidence-Based Practice Center ReportsThe Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), through its Evidence-Based Practice Centers (EPCs), sponsors the development of various reports to assist public- and private-sector organizations in their efforts to improve the quality of healthcare in the United States.
These reports are free to access, and can be searched from this site. Scroll down on the page for the link to the search interface.
Related Disciplines Databases
Selected Disciplines:
- ERIC (Education)
- PsycINFO (Psychology)
- Social Sciences Full Text
- Sociological Abstracts
Complete TCNJ Subject Listing of Databases
GoogleScholar
- Start from the TCNJ Library website in order to increase the probability of retrieving full text by passing through the proxy server.
- If you cannot link to full text from GoogleScholar, use TCNJ Library's Journal Title look up to see if the journal is available from another database.
Citation Management
RefWorks
RefWorks is a web-based program that allows you to easily collect, manage, and organize bibliographic citations by interfacing with databases. RefWorks also operates directly with MS Word, making it easy to import citations and incorporate them into your writing as properly formatted footnotes or parenthetical citations according to the style of your choice.
- RefWorks LibGuide
- This is a LibGuide adapted by TCNJ librarians for TCNJ users.
- Learn to Use RefWorks in 20 Minutes
- This is a quick, straightforward tutorial from the folks at RefWorks on the fundamentals of using their product.
NOTE: The RefWorks providers themselves urge you to examine your citations carefully to make sure they are correctly imported and formatted. Always consult the style guide for your chosen citation style as the final authority.
RefWorks Help
Need to pull together your references for a paper or presentation? Click HERE for a detailed guide to using RefWorks.
Deciphering journal abbreviations
To confirm a complete, correct journal title and obtain an ISSN (International Standard Serial Number; useful for ILL requests), look up the abbreviation in:
- PubMed's Journal Database
If you cannot confirm a correct journal title yourself, rather than submit an incorrect title, try: