Humanities Librarian
David C. Murray
he/him/his
https://orcid.org/0000-0001-5787-2609
Contact:
TCNJ Library,
Room 216
Room 216
609-771-3217
Reference Shelf
Why reference?
- Reference books/e-books—sometimes called tertiary sources by librarians—are two steps removed from the primary source literature (i.e., from medical memoirs and other personal narratives).
- Reference books are based on or reveal secondary sources (e.g., peer-reviewed journal articles).
- Reference books efficiently connect researchers with scholarly sources about their topics.
- Encyclopedias help researchers to choose, refine, and/or contextualize their topics.
- Encyclopedias help researchers to select the most effective search terms (i.e., keywords).
- Handbooks situate the secondary literature within scholarly debates.
Encyclopedia:
Encyclopedia of Life Writing: Autobiographical and Biographical Forms by Call Number: CT21 .E53 2001ISBN: 9781579582326Publication Date: 2001-08-01
Handbooks:
Handbook of Autobiography / Autofiction by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9783110279818Publication Date: 2019-01-29"By conceiving autobiography in a wide sense that includes memoirs, diaries, self-portraits and autofiction as well as media transformations of the genre, this three-volume handbook offers a comprehensive survey of theoretical approaches, systematic aspects, and historical developments in an international and interdisciplinary perspective" (book jacket).
The Routledge International Handbook on Narrative and Life History by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781138784291Publication Date: 2016-11-02-Chapter 35: "How Stories of Illness Practice Moral Life"
-Chapter 40: "Ethics and the Writing of After a Fall: A Sociomedical Sojourn"
Methodological approaches:
Research Methodologies for Auto/biography Studies by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780429288432Publication Date: 2019-06-03-Chapter 23: "Doing Disability Autobiography"
