Online Exhibition
Experiencing History: Holocaust Sources In Context provides access to digital primary sources from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. Explore diaries, letters, photographs, historic film footage, artistic responses, testimonies, and more.
Featured Library Books
Holocaust Graphic Narratives: Generation, Trauma, and Memory by Call Number: PN56.H55 A238 2020ISBN: 9781978802551Publication Date: 2019-11-30history and criticism (secondary)
Holocaust Memories: A Survey of Holocaust Memoirs, Histories, Novels, and Films by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 076187092XPublication Date: 2019-05-16history and criticism (secondary)
How Was It Possible? A Holocaust Reader by
This book, "edited and introduced by Peter Hayes, provides teachers and students with a comprehensive resource about the Nazi persecution of Jews. Deliberately resisting the reflexive urge to dismiss the topic as too horrible to be understood intellectually or emotionally, the anthology sets out to provide answers to questions that may otherwise defy comprehension" (Abstract).
Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780803274914Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Imprisoned: Drawings From Nazi Concentration Camps by Call Number: N7417.6 .B4613 2016ISBN: 9781510706668Publication Date: 2017-01-17
Judenmord: Art and the Holocaust in Post-War Germany by Call Number: N72.H63 H6313 2018ISBN: 9781780239071Publication Date: 2018-07-15
Women's Experiences
Find below a selected list of books and e-books about Jewish women in the Holocaust. Explore the historiography of one aspect of women's experiences in "Understanding Sexual Violence During the Holocaust: A Reconsideration of Research and Sources" by Regina Mühlhäuser, German History (39.1), 2021.
Women's experiences (primary sources):
Click here for a list of several additional books held by our library that contain primary accounts written by women. Some titles incorporate significant secondary criticism.
Different Voices: Women and the Holocaust by
"Different Voices is the most thoroughgoing examination of women's experiences of the Holocaust ever compiled. It gathers together—for the first time in a single volume—the latest insights of scholars, the powerful testimonies of survivors, and the eloquent reflections of writers, theologians, and philosophers. Twenty-eight women in all speak..." (book jacket). This book is also available in print, General Collection, call # D804.3 .D53 1993.
Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 1557785031Publication Date: 1993-09-01
Making Stories, Making Selves: Feminist Reflections on the Holocaust by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 9780814205839Publication Date: 1993-03-01also available in print, General Collection, call # E184.J5 L668 1993- Resilience and Courage: Women, Men, and the Holocaust by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 9780300159578Publication Date: 1991-09-25also available in print, General Collection, call # D804.47 .T43 2003
- Sisters in Sorrow: Voices of Care in the Holocaust by
Chapters: Ch. 1 Introduction (starting p. 3) -- Ch. 2 Women Trapped within a Medical Paradox (starting p. 9) -- Ch. 3 I Was a Nurse in Theresienstadt (starting p. 23) / Hana Muller Bruml -- Ch. 4 If Anyone Here Mentions Humane Treatment (starting p. 50) / Margret Lehner -- Ch. 5 The Only Medicine Was Charcoal (starting p. 62) / Ruth Reiser -- Ch. 6 I Don't Know What This All Means (starting p. 97) / Trudy Shakno -- Ch. 7 Dear Trudy, Dear Rudy (starting p. 107) / Ellen Loeb -- Ch. 8 Hell and Rebirth -- My Experiences during the Time of Persecution (starting p. 129) / Edith Kramer -- Ch. 9 They Were Murdered in the Infirmary (starting p. 158) / Margita Schwalbova -- Ch. 10 People Didn't Go Willingly (starting p. 174) / Hela Los Jafe -- Ch. 11 Don't Be Afraid, Child (starting p. 187) / Ada Bimko -- Ch. 12 God Saved Me for a Purpose (starting p. 197) / Magda Herzberger -- Ch. 13 My Sorrow Is Continuously Before Me (starting p. 237) / Marie Ellifritz -- Ch. 14 Rebel through Recollection (starting p. 245) -- Ch. 15 Conclusion: Beyond the Paradox (starting p. 249)
Call Number: D804.47 .S57 1998ISBN: 9780585370637Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Women in the Holocaust: A Feminist History by
Chapters: Women in the ghettos -- Hiding -- Concentration camps -- After the war -- Conclusion : towards a feminist history of genocide.
Call Number: D804.47 .W39 2017ISBN: 9780199608683Publication Date: 2017-04-16
Writing As Resistance: Four Women Confronting the Holocaust: Edith Stein, Simone Weil, Anne Frank, Etty Hillesum by Call Number: D804.19 .B74 1997ISBN: 027101623XPublication Date: 1997-05-01
Women's experiences (secondary sources):
Different Horrors, Same Hell: Gender and the Holocaust by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780295804576Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Memorializing the Holocaust: Gender, Genocide and Collective Memory by
Chapters: Introduction: the project of memory and the study of the Holocaust -- Genocide and the ethics of feminist scholarship -- Gender and collective memory: women and representation at Auschwitz -- Ravensbruck: the memorialization of women's suffering and survival -- Jewish memory and the emasculation of the sacred: Kristallnacht in the German landscape -- Gender and remembrance: pre-nineteenth-century Jews in European memory -- Relational narratives in survivor memory and the future of Holocaust memorialization.
Call Number: D804.17 .J335 2010ISBN: 9781848851023Publication Date: 2010-07-30
Women and Genocide: Gendered Experiences of Violence, Survival, and Resistance by Call Number: HV6322.7 .W644 2018ISBN: 9780889615823Publication Date: 2016-04-30
Women and Genocide: Survivors, Victims, Perpetrators by Call Number: HV6322.7 .W644 2018ISBN: 9780253033819Publication Date: 2018-04-10
Women in the Holocaust by
Internet Archive is a trustworthy non-profit library. In order to read this e-book you will need to create a personal Internet Archive account. Also available in print, General Collection, Call # D804.47 .W66 1998.
Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0300073542Publication Date: 1998-03-30
End Hate
Fortunoff Archive
Gitenstein Library is a partner site for Yale University’s Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies, which records, collects, and preserves Holocaust witness testimonies. The Fortunoff Archive holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape. See Instructions for registering and accessing the Archives.
Humanities Librarian
David C. Murray
https://orcid.org/0000-0001-5787-2609
Contact:
TCNJ Library,
Room 216
Room 216
609-771-3217