History: Find Articles: Core Databases

(1964-) This venerable index contains abstracts of articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including state and local history journals and selected journals in the social sciences and humanities. In addition to articles, includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in US and Canadian history and related fields each year. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas. Each entry in the database is assigned appropriate indexing terms based on standard authorities. Every year approximately 16,000 new entries are added to the America: History and Life database.

(1954-) Abstracts of articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to articles, each year Historical Abstracts includes approximately 3,000 citations to useful historical books as reviewed by the most prestigious journals in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations of particular interest for historical research. Each entry in the database is assigned appropriate indexing terms based on standard authorities. Every year over 20,000 new citations are added to the Historical Abstracts database.

(Earliest Full Text from the Late 1800s.) A full text, full image journal archive. Coverage of journals generally begins with their first volume and is updated to within three-to-five years of the current issue. Allows keyword searching of the full text of all articles, as well as browsing of particular journal issues. Subject strengths are African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics/finance, general science, history, literature, math/statistics, philosophy, political science, population/demography, and sociology.

(Dates vary from 1995-present) Access to the full text of more than 100 journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from Johns Hopkins University Press and other publishers.