Tip
Use Reference sources for:
- quick overview of a topic
- fast facts
- suggestions for further sources
Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender by
The study of gender differences began in earnest in the 1970s and has since increased dramatically to infiltrate virtually all fields of study in the social and behavioral sciences. Along the way, it was discovered that while women very often think and behave differently than do men, industrialized societies cater to masculine perspectives. The "Psychology of Women" emerged as a field of study focusing on just those areas in which women most often butted against assumed roles. And similarly, in the 1990s, the "Psychology of Men" emerged to focus on the same issues for men. The Encyclopedia of Gender covers all three areas under one cover, discussing psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior. Coverage includes studies of these differences in applied settings such as education, business, the home, in politics, sports competition, etc.
Call Number: REF HQ1115 .E52 2001bPublication Date: 2001-09-13
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by
Covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. This comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia is distinguished by a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world.
Call Number: REF HQ1115 .E54 2009Publication Date: 2008-11-26
Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies by Call Number: Ref HQ1180 .H355 2006ISBN: 0761943900Publication Date: 2006-06-12
Handbook of Feminist Research: Theory and Praxis by Publication Date: 2007
Subject Guide
Linda Dempf
Contact:
R. Barbara Gitenstein Library
609-771-2721
Subjects: Music, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies