Featured Book Series
See the Decades of Modern American Drama series. Each book features primary works and "new interpretations" from the 1930s forward.
Looking for a play?
The library's Literature Online (LION) database provides access to thousands of primary works of American and English drama.
Perform a keyword search in Gitenstein Library's web-scale discovery service for the last name of the playwright and one or two words from the title (e.g., Albee Virginia Woolf).
Browse the 274 volumes of the Dramatists Play Service.
Check out the digital anthology of Early Modern English Drama, Folger Shakespeare Library.
EServer Drama Collection (open access) consists of "original plays and screenplays, criticism and links to other sites concerned with theatre."
Drama in English from the Middle Ages to the Early Twentieth Century by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780813227887Publication Date: 2016-05-01
ILL (for Books) and WorldCat
Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request books and book chapters not held by our library. Chapters typically arrive within hours. Physical books take days.
WorldCat is a "union catalog" of millions of records for books held by thousands of libraries. Search WorldCat to find more books about your topic.
Identify e-books available to read or borrow immediately by conducting an Advanced search. Look for the Library Code box toward the bottom of the page. Enter one of the following library codes:
- INARC (e-books from Internet Archive)
- HATHI (e-books from HathiTrust)
- NJT (books/e-books from our Gitenstein Library)
- OAPEN (open access e-books)
By Subject (LCSH)
The following Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) reveal Gitenstein Library books and e-books. Deselect "Books" under Active filters to see articles and other source types.
Best bets:
- American drama
- American drama (tragedy)
- Drama — History and criticism
- English drama
- English drama (tragedy)
Also important:
- Acting AND (k:drama OR k:theater OR k:performance)
- African American theater
- Asian American theater
- Black theater
- Children's theater
- Dialogue*
- Drama
- Drama — 19th century
- Drama — 20th century
- Drama — 21st century
- Drama — Collections
- Drama in education
- Dramatists
- Gay theater
- Greek drama
- Hispanic American theater
- Jewish theater
- Monologue*
- Musical theater
- One-act plays
- One-act plays, American
- Performance studies
- Performing arts
- Plays AND (s:drama OR s:theater OR s:performance)
- Women in the theater
- Theater
- Theater and performance studies
- Theater and society
- Theater in education
Browse for books at the following LC classes in the circulating (general) stacks (3rd floor), Gitenstein Library:
- PN1530 - PN1559 (Monologue. Dialogue)
- PN1720 - PN1861.2 (Theatre History)
- PN 1865 (One-act plays)
- PR621-744 (English drama)
- PR1241-1273 (Collections of English drama)
- PS330-353 (American drama)
- PS623-635 (Collections of American drama)
- PT1251-1299 (Collections of drama)
Selected Criticism
Broadway Goes to War: American Theater During World War II by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780813181004Publication Date: 2021-06-08
Contemporary Black Theatre and Performance: Acts of Rebellion, Activism, and Solidarity by Call Number: PN2272.A35 C66 2023ISBN: 9781350252912Publication Date: 2023-05-04
In the Lurch: Verbatim Theater and the Crisis of Democratic Deliberation by Call Number: PN1872 .C53 2023ISBN: 9780472075744Publication Date: 2023-01-18
Milestones in Asian American Theatre by Call Number: PS338.A74 M436 2023ISBN: 9781032066639Publication Date: 2022-09-15
Sophocles: A Study of His Theater In Its Social and Political context by Call Number: PA4417 .J6913 2018ISBN: 9780691172071Publication Date: 2018-08-14
Theater in the Middle East: Between Performance and Politics by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781785274473Publication Date: 2020-07-27
The Theatre of Luis Valdez by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781003225911Publication Date: 2021-11-29
Visions of Tragedy in Modern American Drama by Call Number: PS336.T7 V57 2018ISBN: 9781474276931Publication Date: 2018-02-08
