Questions?
E-mail me or schedule a research consultation!
See also the Disabilities in Literature libguide.
Humanities Librarian
David C. Murray
https://orcid.org/0000-0001-5787-2609Reference Works and Topic Overviews
Best reference work:
The Routledge Companion to Art and Disability by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781003009986Publication Date: 2022-03-30"This book will be particularly useful for scholars in art history, disability studies, visual culture, and museum studies" (book jacket). Consult this e-book before conducting research or writing about art and disability!
Disability Studies:
Enforcing Normalcy: Disability, Deafness, and the Body by Call Number: HV1568 .D39 1995ISBN: 1859840078Publication Date: 1995-12-17"Using the historical idea of the norm as a jumping-off point, Enforcing interrogates the ways disability and deafness enhance our picture of the human. Provides a groundbreaking argument for and theorization of disability and deafness as concepts widely applicable, regardless of the textual presence of deaf or disabled individuals" (Rebecca Sanchez, Oxford Bibliographies).
The Minority Body: A Theory of Disability by Call Number: HV1568 .B376 2018ISBN: 9780198822417Publication Date: 2019-01-01"Provides a philosophy of disability that argues for understanding disabled people not as defective but as members of a minority. Articulates a value-neutral model of disability and interrogates the implications of such a model for how we think about the testimony of disabled people, the idea of intentionally causing disability, and disability pride" (Rebecca Sanchez, Oxford Bibliographies).
Related reference works:
The Cambridge Companion to Literature and Disability by Call Number: PN56.5.H35 C36 2018ISBN: 9781107087828Publication Date: 2017-11-16"The volume offers concise introductions for newcomers to the field while also inviting seasoned Disability Studies scholars to stretch the parameters of the field and reimagine its possibilities" (Jess Libow in Disability Studies Quarterly).
The Oxford Handbook of Disability History by Call Number: HV1552 .O94 2018ISBN: 9780190234959Publication Date: 2018-07-18This reference work "offers a broad overview of the field useful to disability scholars as well as those who want to learn what a disabled perspective has to offer" (Jeffrey A. Brune in Journal of American History).
Disability in Children's Literature and YA Fiction:
Dated bibliographies worth consulting if your project involves children's or YA literature published prior to 2002.
Portraying Persons with Disabilities: An Annotated Bibliography of Fiction for Children and Teenagers by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0835230236Publication Date: 1991-01-30also available in print, Reference Collection (1st floor), call # PN1009.A1 P6 1992b
Voices from the Margins: An Annotated Bibliography of Fiction on Disabilities and Differences for Young People by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 9780313317989Publication Date: 2002-07-30
