LibGuides: CLS 349: Cities and Sanctuaries of Ancient Greece: Find Images

Find Images

Use the TCNJ Library databases and open access websites listed below to find images of ancient works of art and architecture.

ARTstor
Gitenstein Library database
more...less...
ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million mostly high-resolution images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Subjects represented include African-American Studies, American Studies, Anthropology, Architecture, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Design and Decorative Studies, Foreign Languages and Literature, History, Literary Studies, Maps, Medieval Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Music History, Native American Studies, Photography, Religious Studies, Renaissance Studies, Theater and Dance, Women’s Studies.
Art Project (by Google)
more...less...
"Discover exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail, from hidden gems to masterpieces. Create your own galleries and share favorite finds with friends."
Metropolitan Museum of Art (Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History)
more...less...
"The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Targeted at students and scholars of art history, it is an invaluable reference, research, and teaching tool. Authored by the Met’s experts—predominantly made up of curators but also of conservators, scientists, and educators—the Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection."
New York University Faculty Digital Archive
more...less...
"The Faculty Digital Archive is a highly visible repository of NYU scholarship, allowing digital works—text, audio, video, data, and more—to be reliably shared and securely stored." Includes access to the Ancient World image bank.
Discovery Service (R. Barbara Gitenstein Library)
Image(s) of surviving works of art and architecture from your chosen city or sanctuary might be available in a book held by Gitenstein Library and/or other libraries (for the latter, search WorldCat). Search by artist, category of object, technique, style, or period, but not generally by the title of your object. Another useful technique is to search the catalog for the phrase "pictorial works" (e.g. Athens AND "pictorial works").
World Images (California State University)
more...less...
"The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery."
Yale Digital Commons
Good source of images of coins from the ancient world
more...less...
"Powered by Yale's Office of Digital Assets and Infrastructure, Cross Collection Discovery (CCD) provides a way to search across Yale's collections of art, natural history, books, and maps, as well as photos, audio, and video documenting people, places, and events that form part of Yale's institutional identity and contribution to scholarship. CCD virtually unites the collections of the University and allows discovery of related content held by different campus units. CCD supports broader dissemination of Yale's intellectual and cultural assets to the Yale community and the world."

ILL (for Books) and WorldCat

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request books and book chapters not held by our library. Chapters typically arrive within hours. Physical books take days.

WorldCat is a "union catalog" of millions of records for books held by thousands of libraries. Search WorldCat to find more books about your topic. Identify e-books available to read or borrow immediately by conducting an Advanced search. Look for the Library Code box toward the bottom of the page. Enter one of the following library codes:

INARC (e-books from Internet Archive)
HATHI (e-books from HathiTrust)
NJT (books/e-books from our Gitenstein Library)
OAPEN (open access e-books)