School Library NJ
Subject Librarian
Children/Young Adult Collection Location
The Children's/Young Adult Collection is located on Level 2 of TCNJ Library.
Search for Book Titles in the Children's/Young Adult Collection
To search for children's/YA books using the Library's OneSearch box, search by keyword, title or author and limit to Books & Media.
On the left under Location there will be options for:
Children's Fiction
Young Adult Fiction
Children's/YA Collection (will retrieve fiction and non-fiction titles)
Children's/YA Collection - Caldecott Award
Children's/YA Collection - Newbery Award
Locating Materials by Language in the Children's/Young Adult Collections
To search for children's books in Spanish (or other languages) in the library collection:
In the search bar on the library page, search children's and limit to Books & Media
On the left under Location, there will be options for
Children's/YA Collection
Children's/YA Collection - Caldecott Award
Children's/YA Collection - Newbery Award
Choose one (they have to be searched separately)
Then on the left under Language, there will be options for various languages
Choose one - this will bring you to a list of title records
Dewey Decimal System
00 Computer science, information & general works
100 Philosophy & Psychology
200 Religion
300 Social Sciences
400 Language
500 Science & Math
600 Technology
700 Arts & Recreation
800 Literature
900 History & Geography
The Dewey Decimal Classification System is used to organize books at most public and school libraries.
Most of the books classified using Dewey are non-fiction, but here are some common categories which are fiction:
Fairy Tales, Folk Literature 398
Graphic Novels 741
Poetry 800
Fiction is organized alphabetically by Fict followed by the Author's last name.