Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FSP 164-17: Energy, Policy and Society: Databases

A guide to the literature on the myriad array of energy sources available to power our economy, their role in shaping energypolicy, and the realities of implementing them.

Why Use Research Databases?

Search for scholarly articles by using research databases.
Click the ARTICLES tab on the library home page. Choose a database:
  • By Discipline
  • Alphabetically
  Searches may be limited to scholarly (peer-reviewed/refereed) content only in the general purpose databases.

Research Databases at TCNJ

Academic Search Premier

General Purpose Database for Undergraduates.  Provides citations and abstracts to over 4,000 journals covering most academic areas of study including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and women's studies. Approximately two-thirds of the articles are available as full text.

Applied Science and Technology Full Text

A general database for the non-scientist which has good inter-disciplinary coverage and coverage that is applicable to the topics covered in this course.

Green File

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

PAIS International

Indexes and provides citations and abstracts from the public and social policy literature of business, economics, education, health, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences. Materials indexed are from all over the world.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Provides citations with abstracts to the literature of political science and related field including topics pertinent to this course.

American Society of Civil Engineers Digital Library

A comprehensive civil engineering database which covers topics relevant to this course.
Journal articles and conferences covered are scholarly and full text.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers Digital Library

A comprehensive mechanical engineering database which covers topics relevant to this course.

Journals articles and conferences covered are scholarly and full text.

IEEE Xplore

A comprehensive electrical and computer engineering database which covers topics relevant to this course.

Journal articles and conferences covered are scholarly and full text.

Compendex

Comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. Provides citations and abstracts from periodicals, conference proceedings and other sources in many fields including mechanical, civil, chemical, computer and electrical engineering, as well as engineering management.