Use the search box on the Gitenstein Library homepage to find primary works of literature and secondary literary criticisms from books and journals. Search by title for a known work, by author for a known writer or literary scholar, or by topic (e.g., canonicity). One of the most effective techniques for identifying relevant books involves combining any search term with...
Examples:
Also effective is limiting your terms to the book's Subject field. To do so, perform an Advanced search.
Example 1: Find criticism of Shakespeare's Hamlet by conducting an Advanced search for [Subject contains] Hamlet AND [Subject contains] "criticism and interpretation".
Example 2: Find criticism of primary literary works written by American authors of Mexican descent by conducting an Advanced search for [Subject contains] "Mexican American authors" AND [Subject contains] "history and criticism".
Example 3: Find criticism of poetry written by authors from the United Kingdom by conducting an Advanced search for [Subject contains] "English poetry" AND [Subject contains] "history and criticism".
Example 4: Find criticism of literary works by the author August Wilson by conducting an Advanced search for [Subject contains] "Wilson August" AND [Subject contains] "criticism and interpretation"
Example 5: A researcher could identify all the plays (or primary literary works) of August Wilson held by Gitenstein Library by searching for [Author contains] August Wilson
Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request books and book chapters not held by our library. Chapters typically arrive within hours. Physical books take days.
WorldCat is a "union catalog" of millions of records for books held by thousands of libraries. Search WorldCat to find more books about your topic. Identify e-books available to read or borrow immediately by conducting an Advanced search. Look for the Library Code box toward the bottom of the page. Enter one of the following library codes: