Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Cases: Getting Started
Searching the scholarly literature will help you identify potential case studies. You will want to search databases in political science and public policy, as well as consider databases from fields such as economics, environmental studies, and law. To search these databases, I recommend working with combinations of keywords that address your resources, geographic location, causal variables, etc. The terms below are suggestions. If you find a great article on your chosen topic, look at the subject headings in the article and use those terms for future searches. If you are having trouble generating search terms for your specific interest, please consult a librarian or your professor.
- Water (or oil, forest, fisheries, etc.)
- Water management
- Petroleum industry
- Natural Resources
- Decision making
- Citizen participation
- Local government
- Political Economy
- Civil Society
Citations and abstracts from the public and social policy literature of business, economics, education, health, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citations with abstracts to the literature of political science and related fields such as international relations, law, public administration and public policy
Academic Search Premier
Provides citations and abstracts to over 4,000 journals covering most academic areas of study including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and women’s studies.
Business Source Premier
Full text for more than 8,000 business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications
Provides citations with abstracts to articles on business, management, products and industries.
Indexes and provides citations and abstracts from over 600 major economics journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
Provides citations with abstracts to research literature in biomedicine, zoology, ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science from over 8,000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and books, and patents.
Find Full Text
Many article records have the full text of the article attached to them. If you see "Search for Full Text" next to a article description in a database, don't be tempted to skip the article. Clicking "Search for Full Text" will search all of our databases, subscriptions, and catalog to see if we own that journal in electronic or print format. If we own the item in print, you can select "Send me an electronic copy" to have library staff scan the article for you. If the library does not own the item, we'll try to get it for you through Interlibrary Loan (click the request link). More info on ILL can be found at http://library.tcnj.edu/about-the-library/interlibrary-loan-requests/.
Access World News (NewsBank)
Selected full-text newspaper articles and newswires from the United States and abroad. Particularly strong in providing access to local, state, regional, and national news. Access to some Spanish-language newspapers from the Americas is included.
Campus Research is an online research service that provides a comprehensive collection of news, business, and law related information for students. To control what sources Westlaw Campus searches, scroll down below the search boxes and use the options under "publication type."