Skip to Main Content

Chinese History: Find Journals

use this guide to research the history of Imperial and Modern China

ILL: Articles

Need to know if the library has a known article? Search here for the journal title.

If the library cannot make the article available immediately, request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

Find Journals: Chinese History

Find below the most important English-language journals covering Late Imperial, 20th- and 21st-century China. For non-hyperlinked titles, or those for which our library does not provide immediate, full-text article access, search the linked database(s) or journal homepage. Request articles via interlibrary loan (ILL). Most will arrive within 24 hours.

Note: This list of journals is necessary because although databases such as Historical Abstracts search across many journals simultaneously, no library database surfaces articles from all titles listed above.

Find below the most important English-language journals covering China from the Shang to Qing Dynasties. For non-hyperlinked titles, or those for which our library does not provide immediate, full-text article access, search the linked database(s) or journal homepage. Request articles via interlibrary loan (ILL). Most will arrive within 24 hours.

  • The Chinese Historical Review (covers all periods)
  • Chinese Studies in History (covers Imperial and Republican periods; translates into English major Chinese conference proceedings)
  • Early China (covers earliest times to the end of the Han dynasty, c. 220 CE)
    • not indexed by any of the library's licensed databases
    • instead, search from the homepage of the journal
  • Early Medieval China
  • East Asian History (covers all periods)
  • Journal of Asian History (covers all of Asian history through 1900)
  • Journal of Modern Chinese History (covers all periods)
  • Journal of Song-Yuan Studies (covers the Jin, Liao, Song, and Yuan dynasties)
    • not indexed by any of the library's licensed databases
    • instead, search directly from the JSYS Archive
  • Late Imperial China (covers both the Ming and Qing dynasties)
  • Ming Studies (covers history of the Ming dynasty, 1368-1644 CE)
    • not indexed by any of the library's licensed databases
    • instead, search from the homepage of the journal
  • Nan nü: Men, Women, and Children in Early Imperial China
  • T'ang Studies (covers history of the Tang dynasty)
    • not indexed by any of the library's licensed databases
    • instead, search from the homepage of the journal
  • T'ung pao (oldest continuously published Sinology journal; covers all aspects of traditional China)

Note: This list of journals is necessary because although databases such as Historical Abstracts search across many journals simultaneously, no library database surfaces articles from all titles listed above.