And Then There Is...
Is It Peer Reviewed (Scholarly)?
Already found an article and want to know if the journal is academic or scholarly?
Check here:
Look for the tiny referee shirt in the table next to the journal name or check under "content type"."
What is a Scholarly Journal Article?
Tips for using Keywords
If you are looking for information about the dangers of texting and driving you may start out with keywords like: texting, driving, distracted driving, danger, cellphones, etc.
But you'll also want to try using synonyms for keywords (e.g. cellphones = mobile phones, smartphones, iphone, etc.) and combining keywords (e.g. texting and driving, distracted driving and danger, etc.) to get better, more thorough results.
Journal Articles
My recommended databases for finding journal articles for "Texting and Driving " include:
Large full text collection. Covers a variety of topics across many disciplines. You can limit your results to scholarly articles.
Focuses on a specific topic in every issue. Each report is 25-30 pages long and includes a pro/con discussions about the issue topic as well as numerous color illustrations. Both publications can be searched simultaneously.
ABI/Inform Global
Provides citations with abstracts to articles on business, management, products and industries.
Provides citations with abstracts to articles on business, management, products and industries.
Journal Articles
Ginsburg, K. R., F. K. Winston, T. M. Senserrick, F. Garcia-Espana, S. Kinsman, D. A. Quistberg, J. G. Ross, and M. R. Elliott. "National Young-Driver Survey: Teen Perspective and Experience With Factors That Affect Driving Safety." Pediatrics 121.5 (2008): E1391-1403. Pediatrics. Pediatrics: The Official Journal of the American Academy of Pediatrics. Web. 4 Sept. 2012. <http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/cgi/reprint/121/5/e1391.pdf>
Jacobson, P. D., and L. O. Gostin. "Reducing Distracted Driving: Regulation and Education to Avert Traffic Injuries and Fatalities." JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association 303.14 (2010): 1419-420. Web. 4 Sept. 2012. <http://ssrn.com/abstract=1645382>
Subject Guide
Jia Mi
Contact:
Library 217
609-771-2429