BUS 200: Legal & Regulatory Environment of Business: Finding Articles

Does the TCNJ Library hold a journal that you need? Find out here.

You can remove a lot of the quesswork from the process of locating good articles by following one simple strategy: When you find just one relevant article, use the citations at the end of the article as a starting point to find more articles.  In other words, see whose work the author has referenced, and see if it may be useful for your work.

Find News and Analysis About a Case or About a Legal Concept

HeinOnline’s Government Politics and Law for Academics

• Select Law Journal Library from the main menu to search for your topic across law reviews and law journals

 Westlaw Next Campus Research

• See instructions on the Finding Cases ... tab of this guide for accessing legal resources in Westlaw Next
• To search for news, select News from the menu displayed on the home page. To search for news within a specific subject, scroll down to News by Topic to choose a relevant area (Business, Finance & Banking, Human Resources & Employment, etc.)
• To find law review articles, select Secondary Sources from the main menu; and then choose Law Reviews & Journals

Political Science - for articles about politics and political science, try searching for articles in database such as Worldwide Political Science Abstracts; Social Sciences Full Text; and PAIS International.

Business - the databases listed below all focus on business-related content, including articles about business law, employment law, labor relations, legal issues in the workplace, etc.

ABI/Inform Global - Articles on business, management and industry; includes peer-reviewed scholarly research.  Full-text coverage for more than half of included sources.

• Change search interface from Basic to Advanced
• Search for keywords and phrases, then use suggested search terms (or subject terms from relevant results) to refine search
• Includes full-text coverage of The Wall Street Journal from 1984-present (see direct link to WSJ below).

Business Source Premier / Regional Business News

• Change search interface from Basic Search to Advanced Search
• Search for keywords and phrases, then use Subject terms from relevant results to refine search

Business Abstracts with Full Text

Communication Studies - for articles about communication and public perception of issues related to business law, you may find it helpful to search for articles within communication studies databases such as CIOS, ComAbstracts, and Communication & Mass Media Complete.

Google Scholar

• Find citations to scholarly articles (including law review articles), then retrieve the full text from TCNJ's journal collection (if available).  Note: if you connect to Google Scholar from off campus, be sure to enter via the Library's website in order to receive information about TCNJ's holdings for items found in Google Scholar

Wall Street Journal (1984-current via ABI/Inform).  Direct link to the WSJ works from TCNJ campus only; when logging in from off-campus, start with ABI/Inform (see link above) and select Wall Street Journal as the publication title

New York Times (current) (1980-present via ProQuest; includes articles from the New York Times Book Review and the Sunday Magazine)

• Switch from Basic Search to Advanced Search
• Input relevant search terms
• To limit your results, scroll down to make selections from the list of document types, including reviews, editorials, and essays

Historical New York Times (1851 to 3 years from current date)

• Change search interface from Basic to Advanced
• Results can be viewed in excerpted detail ("page image") or in context -- select "page map" to see how the article originally appeared on the page

Access World News
(Local, national, and international newspapers)

Listed below is a very small sample of business-law-related items (books, reports, ebooks, DVDs, government publications, etc.) available through TCNJ Library. These titles may spark some ideas for your current events group project.