Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How Do I Find Newspaper Articles?
TCNJ Library can provide you with access to many different local, national and international newspapers. Depending on the newspaper, and its date of publication, it could be in one of many different formats: print, electronic, microfilm. AccessWorldNews is a good place to start. Some newspaper content may be available from the newspaper's own website. If we cannot provide you with access to the content of a newspaper from TCNJ's resources, you can always try our Interlibrary Loan service.
Finding Articles in Older Newspapers
For citations to older newspaper articles, consult the following printed indexes:
- New York Times Index (1851 to present) Ref AI21 .N44
- Personal Name Index to the New York Times Index (1851-1996) Ref CT104 .F3
- Wall Street Journal Index (1973 to present) Ref HG1 .W258
- Christian Science Monitor Index (1987 to present) Ref AI21 .C57
- Index to the Times (London) (1960 to date) Ref AI21 .T46
- The Trenton Times is full text back to 1993. (Note: There are no printed indexes for the Star Ledger or the Trenton Times. For full text, check microform holdings or ask a librarian.)
Individual major newspapers
Databases that aggregate multiple newspapers
Newspapers Search (by Gitenstein Library)
This tool simultaneously searches most of TCNJ's newspaper collections.
Access World News
Access to Trenton Times. Selected full-text newspaper articles and newswires from the United States and abroad. Access World News is particularly strong in providing access to local, state, regional, and national news.
Ethnic News Watch
Provides full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing access to essential, often overlooked perspectives
Historical New York Times (issues published 1851->[3 years ago])
Provides full-text access to the New York Times issues published from 1851 up to three years ago.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
New Jersey Digital Newspaper Project
This guide indexes all known digitized newspapers published in New Jersey. Also points to other helpful info relevant to NJ research. Use the navigation in the left margin (which lists each NJ county) to find actual links to individual newspapers.
If You Want to Search for Newspaper Articles on a Topic
Access World News (NewsBank) is a good starting point to find articles in many national and international, and some local, newspapers. The default search is within the United States. However, you can also choose from the Shortcuts list of local newspapers, or select "The World" to begin creating a customized list of newspapers to search, based on criteria such as state, country, or region of publication. In the search boxes, you need to supply keywords that best describe your topic of interest. Most newspaper articles retrieved will be full-text; years of coverage varies with each title.
Some general databases, such as Academic Search Premier, will also provide you with references to newspaper articles and, sometimes, full-text. There are details of more newspaper sources in a link under the Articles tab on the library home page.
If You Know the Title of the Newspaper
If you know the title of the newspaper then select the Journals button on the library home page. In the box, type the title of the newspaper, omitting: the, a, an, or their foriegn equivalents.