Article search: getting started | Interlibrary loan for articles not available at TCNJ
For a refresher on how to search for articles, review the relevant content (find articles) from IDS102 (Library research skills and information literacy).
If you identify an article that is not available to you from TCNJ, then you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan (ILL).
Finding pre-prints in arXiv
Sometimes the scholarly conversations in IST are happening too fast for journal publishers to keep up. To find some of the most recent pre-prints (not yet published) articles about a topic you're exploring, try searching in arXiv, described as "a free distribution service and an open-access archive for ... scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics." Subtopics relevant to IST include artificial intelligence, social and information networks, networking and internet architecture, and computers and society.
Finding Journals at TCNJ
Does TCNJ Library hold a journal (either online or in print) that you're looking for? Find out here. Or follow the "Journals by Title" link from the library homepage.
Tip
You can remove a lot of the guesswork from the process of locating good articles by following one simple strategy: When you find a relevant article, use the citations at the end of the article as a starting point to find more articles. In other words, look at whose work the author has referenced, and see if that work may be also be useful for your information-finding.
Subscription databases at TCNJ
ACM Digital Library Portal provides access to the full-text of all the publications of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). This includes journals, transactions and magazines, conference proceedings, and the SIG (Special Interest Groups) publications.
IEEE Xplore features journals, conference proceedings and standards from IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) as well as the UK’s IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology). IEEE Xplore contains almost one-third of the world’s current literature in electrical engineering, communications and computer science as well as literature in robotics, biomedical engineering, systems engineering and anything that technology touches.
Communication & Mass Media Complete includes articles in management information systems, information & communication technologies, information technology & society, and government policy on information technology.
Business Source Premier compiles articles from academic journals and trade publications covering a range of business topics, including management information systems, information & communication technologies, IT management, and information ethics.
Science Direct provides full-text coverage of academic journal articles in subjects that include sub-fields of computer science, engineering, and management that are relevant to IST.
Google Scholar is the subset of Google that yields search results from scholarly (academic) publications. Be sure to access Google Scholar via TCNJ Library, so that search results will include links to content that may be available only from TCNJ subscription databases.
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides citations and abstracts to over 4,000 journals covering most academic areas of study including mathematics and statistics, as well as biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and women's studies.
Subject Guide
