Ask a Librarian
Health and Life Sciences Librarian
How To Read A Research Article
-
Making Sense of a Scientific Journal ArticleThis module created by the NIH will guide you through the parts of a scientific article. Click on each section, then scroll down to find tips that will help you understand what to look for in each part. Many parts of a research article can work as an evidence source, but your best bet is probably the Results section.
Find Health Statistics and Data
-
CDC Fast StatsFastStats provides quick access to data from the National Center for Health Statistics. Topics include diseases and conditions, injuries, life stages and populations, health care and insurance, births, and deaths.
-
National Center for Health StatisticsA division of the CDC, NCHS provides statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.
-
Guttmacher InstituteLeading research and policy organization committed to advancing sexual and reproductive health and rights in the United States and globally
-
StatistaStatista is a statistics portal that provides access to data from more than 18,000 sources.
-
Explore US Census DataPrimary gateway for exploring US Census data.
-
Global Health Research GuideA global public health research guide maintained by the Health Sciences Librarian, with links to country-specific resources.
Find Literature Reviews
Review articles pull together previously published original research, saving you time and effort. This type of scholarly article can be found in any database. There are also databases, like Cochrane, which specialize in review articles.
A systematic review is a specific type of scholarly review article that is conducted according to a defined protocol. It uses systematic and explicit methods to identify, choose, and critically evaluate research. In medicine, systematic reviews are considered an authoritative source of evidence.
-
Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR). The CDSR is a well-known, reputable source of evidence-based, systematic reviews of the effects healthcare interventions.
-
Health Source - Nursing EditionHealth Source: Academic/Nursing Edition covers nursing and allied health topics, including nutrition, pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more. It provides full-text coverage for over 100 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for more than 900 publications. Access is provided courtesy of the New Jersey State Library.
-
PubMedIn PubMed, start by entering your terms in the big search box. Then, on the Results screen, use the menu on the left side of the page to limit the Article Type to "Review" and/or "Systematic Review."
Find Research Articles
-
PubMedProvides access to MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine’s database of bibliographic citations and abstracts for the biomedical sciences, including medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems and preclinical sciences.
-
Health Source - Nursing EditionHealth Source: Academic/Nursing Edition covers nursing and allied health topics, including nutrition, pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more. It provides full-text coverage for over 100 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for more than 900 publications. Access is provided courtesy of the New Jersey State Library.
-
Sociological AbstractsThe principal index to the literature in sociology and related disciplines. It is an international database that provides citations to and abstracts from journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers.
-
PsycINFOComprehensive international database of psychology. Provides citations and abstracts from the academic, research and practice literature in psychology, and includes materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work and criminology.
-
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed articles, papers, books, and other scholarly sources. To take full advantage of the TCNJ collection, make sure to use the library link and log in.