Ask a Librarian
Health and Life Sciences Librarian
Find Basic Health Information
-
MedlinePlusA service of the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus provides free high-quality medical information designed for the general public, without advertising or corporate sponsorship (unlike WebMD). It contains information about drugs and supplements, medical tests, genetic testing, and other health topics. The entire contents of the site can be viewed in Spanish by clicking the "Español" button on the right side of the toolbar.
-
Health Source - Consumer EditionThis rich collection of consumer health and health education information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets, and access to a medical dictionary. Access to this resource is provided courtesy of the NJ State Library.
-
Mayo Clinic Health InformationMayo Clinic is a private, non-profit healthcare system. Though it was originally founded in partnership with a Catholic (Franciscan) convent, it is currently considered a secular organization. Mayo's library of health information for the public is free of advertising, and regularly reviewed by healthcare providers.
-
Merck ManualsMerck is a New Jersey-based pharmaceutical company. For nearly 200 years, this company has been financing a popular medical and pharmaceutical reference book aimed at healthcare professionals and the general public. This resource is now available free online, is updated regularly by healthcare professionals and reviewed by an editorial board.
-
American Sexual Health Association (ASHA)ASHA is a non-profit organization dedicated to sexual health education. The website contains educational materials produced by ASHA staff and reviewed by healthcare providers.
-
ADAM Medical Encyclopedia (at MedLinePlus)The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
-
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
by
Call Number: R121 .D73 2012ISBN: 9781416062578Publication Date: 2011-05-02Find this, and other medical dictionaries, in the Reference section on the first floor of Gitenstein Library -
Elsevier's Dictionary of Abbreviations, Acronyms, Synonyms and Symbols Used in Medicine
by
Call Number: R121 .T787 2004ISBN: 0444512659Publication Date: 2004-01-20A book like this one can be very helpful when you run into an acronym you've never seen before.
-
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)Formerly known as NCCAM. This division of the NIH focuses on alternative and complementary medicine. Contains educational information about supplements, herbal treatments, yoga, and other alternative healing practices, aimed at the general public.
-
The Encyclopedia of Complementary and Alternative Medicine
by
ISBN: 0816066310Publication Date: 2004Available online as an e-book. -
Gale Encyclopedia Alternative Medicine
by
Call Number: R733 .G34 2005ISBN: 0787674249Publication Date: 2004-12-01Find this and similar reference books in the Reference section on the 1st floor of Gitenstein Library. -
Routledge Handbook of Yoga and Meditation Studies
by
ISBN: 9781351050753Publication Date: 2020-10-28Available online as an e-book!
-
About Herbs: Herbal Supplement DatabaseMaintained by Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. This is a searchable database of evidence-based information about herbal products, with illustrations.
-
MedLinePlus Drug InformationMedLinePlus maintains a database of information about prescription and over-the-counter medications, as well as selected supplements. This information is sourced from the American Hospital Formulary Service (AHFS), and reviewed by pharmacists.
-
DailyMedThis database provides the most recent, currently-in-use drug labeling submitted to the FDA by companies. It includes labels for prescription and nonprescription drugs for human and animal use, and for additional products such as medical gases, devices, cosmetics, dietary supplements, and medical foods. The information here may be more technical than you need, but if you're looking for something from a package insert, you will likely find it here.
-
Mosby's Handbook of Herbs and Natural Supplements
by
Call Number: RM666.H33 S575 2006ISBN: 0323037062Publication Date: 2005-07-20Find this book, and others like it, in the Reference section on the 1st floor of Gitenstein Library.
Need Something More Technical?
For more technical information, like drug dosing, information about treatments, and diagnostic criteria, try a clinical reference source!
Clinical reference sources are designed to be used by healthcare professionals, like nurses, nurse practitioners, doctors, and other healthcare workers. Using them often requires a little more background knowledge than the resources listed above, but they can provide more in-depth information.
-
UpToDateThis is a special clinical resource, which requires a separate (free) login. It features peer-reviewed, regularly-updated information on medical conditions and treatments, and detailed pharmacology information from LexiDrugs. First-time users, please read the access instructions at the bottom of the page.
Find Health and Health Policy News Sources
-
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly ReportThis is a weekly publication by the CDC, used to distribute timely information about public health issues, and up-to-date reports and statistics.
-
Health AffairsHealth Affairs is a journal that publishes health policy-related news, commentary, and some peer-reviewed research. It is a reliable source of news, but you should not assume that everything it publishes is peer-reviewed.
-
CQ Press Electronic LibraryFrom CQ (Congressional Quarterly); excellent analysis and explanation of issues in government and politics. Use the search bar to find reports on health-related topics.
-
Science MagazineNot to be confused with the scholarly journal of the same name! Though they are published by the same organization, this magazine version of Science features more accessible articles and news briefs that can serve as background information, and usually link back to a scholarly source.
Try A Newspaper
Individual major newspapers
-
New York Times (issues published 1980-present)Provides full text access to the New York Times.
-
Washington PostParticularly useful for news related to national government, policy, etc.
-
Wall Street JournalFull-text from 1984 to the present. The financial newspaper of record.
Databases that aggregate multiple newspapers
-
Newspaper Search (by Gitenstein Library)This tool simultaneously searches most of TCNJ's newspaper collections.
-
Access World NewsAccess to Trenton Times. Selected full-text newspaper articles and newswires from the United States and abroad. Access World News is particularly strong in providing access to local, state, regional, and national news.
-
Ethnic News WatchProvides full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing access to essential, often overlooked perspectives
Historical newspapers
-
Historical New York Times (issues published 1851->[3 years ago])Provides full-text access to the New York Times issues published from 1851 up to three years ago.
-
Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
-
New Jersey Digital Newspaper ProjectThis guide indexes all known digitized newspapers published in New Jersey. Also points to other helpful info relevant to NJ research. Use the navigation in the left margin (which lists each NJ county) to find actual links to individual newspapers.
TCNJ newspapers
-
The Signal [archive reaching back to first issue]TCNJ student newspaper established in 1885.
-
Utimme Umana / La Voz OcultaBlack and Puerto Rican TCNJ student newspaper established in 1972