LibGuides: Carrie Mae Weems: The Usual Suspects: Find Articles

Articles recommended by TCNJ faculty from across the disciplines

Bey, Dawoud. "Carrie Mae Weems." Bomb, no. 108, 2009, pp. 60-67.

Correll, Joshua, et al. "The Police Officer's Dilemma: A Decade of Research on Racial Bias in the Decision to Shoot." Social and Personality Psychology Compass, vol. 8, no. 5, 2014, pp. 201-213. [navigate to article]

Cox, William T. L., and Patricia G. Devine. "Experimental Research on Shooter Bias: Ready (Or Relevant) for Application in the Courtroom?" Journal of Applied Research in Memory and Cognition, vol. 5, no. 3, 2016, pp. 236-238.

Ward, LaCharles. "Keep Runnin' Bro": Carrie Mae Weems and the Visual Act of Refusal."
Black Camera, vol. 9, no. 2, 2018, pp. 82-109. [request via interlibrary loan]

Find additional articles in Gitenstein Library databases

Art Abstracts
From the database's homepage, copy/paste the following into the blank search box: ZM "weems, carrie mae". This search reveals (as of this writing) 44 articles and article citations about the art and life of Carrie Mae Weems.
more...less...
(1984-) Art Full Text provides citations to periodical articles plus reproductions of works of art appearing in those articles. Also includes some yearbooks and museum bulletins. Covers art and related disciplines, e.g., fine and applied art, art history, archaeology, architecture, photography.
Humanities Full Text
A similar search, ZU "weems, carrie mae, 1953-" reveals (as of this writing) 20 articles and article citations about Weems. A slight tweak, ZA "weems, carrie mae" reveals 3 articles and article citations authored by Weems.
more...less...
(Indexing & Abstracting, 1982-; earliest Full Text from 1995.) Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text for periodical articles and reviews from English language periodicals. Subjects include archaeology, classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language, literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.
JSTOR
The premier journal archive, JSTOR does not offer a subject search. To find JSTOR articles about Weems, click Advanced Search. Scroll down to the list of academic disciplines. Now click the box next to Art & Art History. Use the blank search box(es) at the top of the page to find articles about Weems in scholarly, peer-reviewed art journals. Try searching for the phrase "Carrie Mae Weems" alone or in combination with another term.
more...less...
Earliest Full Text from the Late 1800s.) A full text, full image archive of over 120 journals. Coverage of journals generally begins with their first volume and is updated to within three years of the current issue. Allows keyword searching of the full text of all articles, as well as browsing of particular journal issues. Subject strengths are African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics/finance, general science, history, literature, math/statistics, philosophy, political science, population/demography, and sociology.
Project MUSE
Works similarly to JSTOR, but after clicking Advanced Search from the home screen select Art and Architecture from the Areas box in the left-hand column.
more...less...
(Dates vary from 1995-present) Access to the full text of more than 100 journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from Johns Hopkins University Press and other publishers.