IBISWorld
To get started, see if your product or industry is featured in IBISWorld -- a specialized database of industry information.
Statista
Another useful starting point is Statista. As the name implies, this database is a great place to search for statistics about your product. For some products, an in-depth report or a visually-appealing infographic may be available.
Online Reference
Use Reference Sources to:
* Get a quick overview on a topic
* Find facts fast
* Lead you to additional resources
Listed below is a small sample of TCNJ's online reference sources. You can search for more here, or ask a librarian for assistance finding reference sources for your specific product.
- Plunkett Research OnlineOffers business intelligence, industry trends, statistics, market research, sales leads & corporate profiles in your choice of formats and access plans. Industries covered include apparel and textiles; food; wireless and cellular; transportation and supply chains; and more.
- An A to Z of Food and Drink (Oxford)From absinthe to zabaglione, reveals the origin, meaning, and development of a host of gastronomic terms.
- Dictionary of Food and Nutrition (Oxford)Over 6,000 entries covering all aspects of food and nutrition, diet and health.
- Oxford Book of Health FoodsCovers more than a hundred types of food. Provides information on the food's origins, the health claims and myths associated with it, and the scientific evidence to support -- or refute -- these claims.
- Manufacturing & Distribution USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics, and Leading CompaniesProvides statistics on more than 500 manufacturing, wholesaling, and retail industries. Projections and graphs included.
- Historical Encyclopedia of American BusinessNearly 500 articles on broad topics and trends in American business history from colonial times to the present. Includes company and industry histories
Reference Books (1st floor Reference)
Oxford encyclopedia of food and drink in America by Call Number: TX349 .E45 2004Information on every aspect of American food and drink, discussed within the context of politics; geography; commerce; technology; medicine; class structure; agriculture; and symbolic, spiritual, and ethical values.
Clothing and Fashion: American fashion from head to toe by Call Number: Reference Collection GT605 .C555 2016ISBN: 9781610693097Publication Date: 2015-11-23
Encyclopedia of American Industries by Call Number: HC102 .E53 2008ISBN: 9781592372447Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of food sciences and nutrition by Call Number: TX349 .E47 2003 Reference10 volumes of accurate and integral scientific information on all aspects of the food chain, from agriculture and plant physiology to dietetics, clinical nutrition, epidemiology, and policy.
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Technology by Call Number: T9 .E462 2005ISBN: 1579583865Publication Date: 2005
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Packaging Technology by Call Number: TS195.A2 W55 1997ISBN: 0471063975Publication Date: 1997
Encyclopedia of Junk Food and Fast FoodCall Number: TX370 .S63 2006 Reference
Encyclopedia of Organic, Sustainable, and Local FoodCall Number: HD9005 .E645 2010 Reference
The atlas of food: who eats what, where, and why by Call Number: TX353 .M55 2008 (Reference)Examines every link in the food chain. Forty maps are arranged into sections covering Contemporary Challenges; Farming,;Trade; and Processing, Retailing, and Consumption. A good introduction to the global food system.
Handbook of nutrition and foodCall Number: QP141 .H345 2002Presents the quantitative and qualitative data and information needed by nutritionists, dieticians, and health care professionals. It proceeds from human development to body systems and disease to micro/macro nutrients and concludes with nutrition counseling and community nutrition.
Encyclopedia of North American Railroads by Call Number: TF22 .E53 2007ISBN: 9780253349163Publication Date: 2007
The New Complete Book of Food, Second EditionCall Number: TX353 .R525 2009 Reference
Social Sciences Librarian
Erin Ackerman
Contact:
(609) 771-3352