Literary Publications

Title: Literary Publications

Extent: 8.0 Boxes

Arrangement

Abstract

Languages of Materials

Administrative Information

Restrictions: For security reasons the Archives is a locked area. Access to the Archives is by appointment, although same day access may be available if staffing permits. Please contact Reference at 609 771-2417 or email Ask A Librarian.

Collection Material Type: Documents

Other Note:

BOX	FILE	DESCRIPTION	DATE
		SERIES 1: CHIMES
1	1		1957
	2		1958
	3		1960
	4		1961
	5		1962
	6		1963
	7		1964
	8		1965
	9		1966
	10		1967
	11		1969
	12		1970
	13		1971
	14		1972
	15		1973
	16		1974
	17		1975
	18		JAN, 1976
	19		MAY, 1976
	20		FALL, 1976
	21		SPRING, 1977
	22		FALL, 1977
	23		SPRING, 1978
	24		FALL, 1978
	25		SPRING, 1979
	26		FALL, 1979
	26A		1979/1980

		SERIES 2: POETRY REVIEW
	27		1980/81
	28		1982
	29		1983
		SERIES 3: LION’S EYE
2	1		SPRING, 1984
	2		FALL, 1984
	3		SPRING, 1985
	4		FALL, 1985

BOX	FILE	DESCRIPTION	DATE
2	5		SPRING, 1986
	6		FALL, 1989
	7		SPRING, 1990
	8		SUMMER, 1990
	9		AUTUMN, 1990
	10		SPRING, 1991
	11		SUMMER, 1991
	12		AUTUMN, 1991
	13		SPRING, 1992
	14		WINTER, 1993
	15		SUMMER, 1993
	16		AUTUMN, 1993
	17		SPRING, 1994
	18		FALL, 1994
	19		SUMMER, 1995
	20		FALL, 1995
	21		SPRING, 1996
	22		FALL, 1996
	23		SPRING, 1997
2A	1		FALL, 1997
	2		SPRING, 1998
	2a		FALL, 1998
	2b		SPRING, 1999
	3		FALL, 1999
	4		FALL, 2000
	5		SPRING, 2001
	5a		FALL, 2001
	6		SPRING, 2002
	7		FALL, 2003
	8		SPRING, 2004
	9		FALL, 2004
	10		SPRING, 2005
	11		SPRING, 2006
	12		SPRING, 2007
	13		SPRING, 2008
	14		FALL, 2009
	15 16 17 18 19		SPRING, 2009 FALL, 2009 SPRING 2010 FALL 2010 SPRING 2011
		SERIES 4: FIRE II
3	1		1973
	2		1974
	3		1978
	4		1979
BOX	FILE	DESCRIPTION	DATE
3	5		1980
	6		1981
	7		1982
	8		1983
	9		1984
	10		1985
	11		1995
	12		1997
	13		1998
	14		NOV., 1980
	15		MAY, 1981
	16		DEC., 1981
	17		MAY, 1982
	18		MAY, 1983
		SERIES 6: UTIMME UMANA: LA VOZ OCULTA
4	1		OCT. 1972-NOV. 1974
	2		DEC. 1974-OCT.9, 1975
	3		OCT.16,1975-APRIL 8,1976
	4		APRIL 22, 1976-APRIL 1977
	5		MAY 1977-FEB. 1978
5	1		APRIL 1978-SEPT. 1979
	2		DEC. 1979-APRIL 1981
	3		MAY 1981-MAY 1984
	4		SEPT.1984-FEB.1987
	5		MARCH/APRIL 1987-NOV. 1990
	6		APRIL 1992
	7		FEB. 1993
		SERIES 7:THE REVIEW
6	1A	INAUGURAL ISSUE (TRENTON)	FALL 1966
	1	VOL. 1, NO.1 (TSC)	MAY 1990
	2	VOL. 2, NO.1 (TSC)	MAY 1991
	3	VOL. 3, NO.1 (TSC)	MAY 1992
	4	VOL. 4, NO.1 (TSC)	APRIL 1993
	5	VOL. 5, NO.1 (TSC)	APRIL 1994
	6	VOL. 6 (TSC)	APRIL 1995

6	7	VOL. 7 (TSC)	APRIL 1996
6	8	VOL.8 (TSC)	APRIL 1997
	9	VOL.9 (TCNJ)	APRIL 1998
	9A	VOL.10 (TCNJ)	APRIL 1999
	10	VOL.11 (TCNJ)	APRIL 2000
	10A	VOL.12 (TCNJ)	APRIL 2001
	11	VOL.13 (TCNJ)	APRIL 2002
	12	VOL.14 (TCNJ)	APRIL 2003
	13 14	VOL.15 (TCNJ) VOL.16 (TCNJ)	APRIL 2004 2005
		SERIES 8: THE SIREN
7	1	VOICE FROM A LIFE SPAN-VOL.1	WINTER, 1995
	2	VOICE FROM A LIFE SPAN-VOL.2	SPRING, 1996
	3	VOICE FROM A LIFE SPAN-VOL.2, NO.1	FALL, 1996
	4	VOICE FROM A LIFE SPAN-VOL.2, NO.1	SPRING, 1997
	5	VOICE FROM A LIFE SPAN-VOL.3, NO.1	FALL, 1997
	6	VOL.5, NO.1	FALL, 1999
	7	VOL.5, NO.2	SPRING, 2000
	7A	VOL.6, NO.1	FALL, 2000
	8	VOL.6, NO.2	SPRING, 2001
	9	VOL.7, NO.1	FALL, 2001
	10	VOL.7, NO.2	SPRING, 2002
	11	VOL.8, NO.1	FALL, 2002
	12	VOL.9, NO.1	FALL, 2003
	13	VOL.9, NO.2	SPRING 2004
	14	[NO VOL., NO DATE]	c.2003-2004
	15	[NO VOL.#]	SPRING 2006
	16	[NO VOL.#]	SPRING 2007
	17	[NO VOL.#]	FALL 2007

SERIES 9: THE PERSPECTIVE

8 1 ISSUE 1 OCTOBER 2009
2 ISSUE 2 NOVEMBER 2009
3 ISSUE 3 JANUARY 2010
4 ISSUE 4 APRIL 2010
8 5 ISSUE 5 MAY 2010
6 [ISSUE 6] NOVEMBER 2010
7 MARCH 2011

BOX FILE DESCRIPTION
SERIES 10: THORNTON WILDER SOCIETY NEWSLETTER

8 1 VOL. 1, NO. 1 FALL 2002
2 VOL. 1, NO. 2 FALL 2004
3 VOL. 2, NO. 1 2006
4 VOL. 2, NO. 2 2007
5 VOL. 3, NO. 1 FALL 2008
6 VOL. 4

Staff Information

Storage Locations:

Content	Location	Range	Section	Shelf	Extent
Documents	Library Archives				8.00 Boxes

Scope and Contents:

DESCRIPTION

SERIES 1: CHIMES

The Chimes, a student creative writing magazine originally published by the Student Cooperative Association, premiered in June 1957. It was originally published annually, generally in May, through 1975. Beginning in 1976, it came out twice a year, Fall and Spring. Running on average 26 pages, Chimes contained poetry, short stories, and essays. Author for each entry is indicated, as is the editorial staff for each issue.

SERIES 2: POETRY REVIEW

Most likely a replacement of Chimes in 1980, the Poetry Review was published until 1983. In 1984, it became the Lion's Eye. Published annually, the Poetry Review consisted of poems, drawings, photographs, and occasional short stories, primarily created by students. The Preface to the 1980/81edition indicated dissatisfaction with previous editorial policies, presumably of the Chimes, and announced a new direction, reflecting the "energy of poetry". Each issue averaged 30 pages and was funded by the Student Activities Fund.

SERIES 3: LION'S EYE

The Lion's Eye premiered in Spring, 1984 as a replacement of the Poetry Review. The Editor's message in the premier edition indicated that the Lion's Eye would be a "campus arts magazine." The Lion's Eye was published twice annually, once each semester (some years contain a Summer issue as well), and has ranged from 42-65 pages per issue. Like its predecessors, it contains poetry, drawings, photographs and short stories by both students and faculty.

SERIES 4: FIRE II

Fire IIbegan publication in 1973. Produced by the African-American Studies Program, it was named after Fire, a literary publication from 1920-30's produced by members of Harlem Renaissance. Fire II consists of poems, short stories, essays, and drawings. Published annually, issues ran on average 30 pages.

SERIES 5: GUMPTION

In its premier issue, Gumption was presented as a "forum" for the Trenton State College staff, students, and alumni. While publishing literary efforts such as poetry and short stories, and drawings and photographs, Gumption also produced commentary on campus events and social and cultural themes. It was produced in a glossy magazine format, one each semester, and issues ran on average 30 pages.

SERIES 5: UTIMME UMANA: LA VOZ OCULTA

In it premier edition on October 2, 1972, the Utimme Umana: La Voz Oculta indicated that it succeeded the Utimme Umana, which had been the Black student's newspaper on campus. The Utimme Umana was originally incorporated in 1968. With the advent of the October 2, 1972 publication, and still relfecting African-American sentiments on campus, the newspaper now included a Hispanic voice, La Voz Oculta. Utimme Umana is Swahili for "rebirth" and La Voz Oculta means "hidden voice" in Spanish.

Utimme Umana: La Voz Ocultawas published twice monthly in a newspaper format until some point in early 1978 when it changed to a magazine format. Throughout its existence, the publication has presented poetry, short stories and essays relating predominately to African-American and Hispanic themes. There are also reporting of social/cultural events, announcements, reviews, letters to the editor, photographs and drawings. Many issues also contain advertising. Issues run on average 30 pages.

SERIES 6: THE SIREN

The Siren began publication in the Fall of 1995. It published once each semester. The Siren contains student and faculty produced poetry, prose, photographs and illustrations. Each issue is approximately 30 pages long,

SERIES 7: REVIEW

The Review began publication in May 1990. It is produced through the college English Department and contains intellectual and creative productions by faculty and staff. Each issue is approximately 20 pages long.

Archival Material - Documents Collection

Library Archives- Documents Collection

Literary Publications