Chinese History: Find Articles

(1954-) Abstracts of articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to articles, each year Historical Abstracts includes approximately 3,000 citations to useful historical books as reviewed by the most prestigious journals in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations of particular interest for historical research. Each entry in the database is assigned appropriate indexing terms based on standard authorities. Every year over 20,000 new citations are added to the Historical Abstracts database.

(Indexing & Abstracting, 1982-; earliest Full Text from 1995.) Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text for periodical articles and reviews from English language periodicals. Subjects include archaeology, classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language, literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.

(Earliest Full Text from the Late 1800s.) A full text, full image archive of over 120 journals. Coverage of journals generally begins with their first volume and is updated to within three years of the current issue. Allows keyword searching of the full text of all articles, as well as browsing of particular journal issues. Subject strengths are African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics/finance, general science, history, literature, math/statistics, philosophy, political science, population/demography, and sociology.

(Dates vary from 1995-present) Access to the full text of more than 100 journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from Johns Hopkins University Press and other publishers.

(mid-1990s- ) Selected full-text newspaper articles and newswires from the United States and abroad. Access World News is particularly strong in providing access to local, state, regional, and national news. Access to some Spanish-language newspapers from the Americas are included.

(1984-) Art Full Text provides citations to periodical articles plus reproductions of works of art appearing in those articles. Also includes some yearbooks and museum bulletins. Covers art and related disciplines, e.g., fine and applied art, art history, archaeology, architecture, photography.

FBIS Daily Reports, 1941-1996 offers researchers primary source accounts of international economic, environmental, military, political, and social events. It contains first-hand news coverage translated by experts from the original language (e.g., Arabic, Chinese, Polish, Russian and many others) into English. Media represented include foreign radio and television news broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements. These are the reports American diplomats and other U.S. decision makers relied on to understand major events as they unfolded around the globe.

Several of the innumerable topics covered by FBIS include World War II and the Axis powers; the final stages of European colonialism in sub-Saharan Africa; the first decades of apartheid in South Africa; the emergence of postcolonial Arab countries; the creation of Israel; the Iron Curtain and Berlin Wall (including its fall); the superpowers’ Space Race; the Suez and Cuban Missile crises; the Korean and Vietnamese conflicts; the Iranian Revolution; Lech Walesa and Poland's Solidarity movement; the Soviet intervention in Afghanistan; Mikhail Gorbachev and the dissolution of the Soviet Union; and Chinese students’ takeover of Tiananmen Square.

FBIS is the premier TCNJ Library database for researchers looking to find primary sources about the Cold War from a non-U.S. perspective.

(1963-) Indexes journal articles, book chapters, proceedings, working papers and bibliographies for literature, linguistics and folkore.

(1915-) Indexes and provides citations and abstracts from the public and social policy literature of business, economics, education, health, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences. Materials indexed are from all over the world and include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, conference proceedings, and research reports. Most records since 1985 include an abstract.

(1940 to the present.) Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, logic, and philosophy of mind as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, language and education. Covers both books and 480 scholarly journals published in English, German, French, Italian and Spanish. The book reviews in the print version of Philosopher’s Index are excluded from the online version.