Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Reference sources for:
- quick overview of a topic
- fast facts
- suggestions for further sources
General & Related Reference
Oxford Reference Online
Over 1 million entries in 175 Oxford University Press titles (mainly subject specialized dictionaries and companions), covering the arts , biological and physical sciences, business and economics, history, politics, philosophy and religion, the classics, mythology, literature,
Oxford Art Online
Covers all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory through the present.
Literature Resource Center (online)
For research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Its coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world.
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the most extensive and authoritative encyclopedia for music. Also includes the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Oxford Dictionary of Music and Oxford Companion to Music.
Note: there is a prominent “sign in” box in the upper left. If you see The College of New Jersey above that, rest assured that the database recognizes your computer as being part of the TCNJ subscription, and you have full access to the content. The sign-in box is actually for individual subscribers; just ignore it.
Oxford Performing Arts Online
Oxford Performing Arts Reference Online -- includes Oxford's Companions and Dictionaries to the American Musical, American Theatre, Dance, Opera, Opera Characters, Opera Singers, Shakespeare, and Theatre and Performance.