Primary sources @Gitenstein
Use Library Search to find published primary sources, such as diaries, letters and documents. Add words to your topic, such as letters, correspondence, diaries, autobiography, records, sources, interviews, etc.
The Crisis Reader: stories, poetry, and essays from the N.A.A.C.P.'s Crisis magazine by
After its start in 1910, The Crisis: A Record of the Darker Races magazine became the major outlet for works by African American writers and intellectuals...The Crisis Reader is a collection of poems, short stories, plays, and essays from this great literary period and includes, in addition to four previously unpublished poems by James Weldon Johnson, work by Countee Cullen, Langston Hughes, Jessie Fauset, Charles Chesnutt, W. E. B. Du Bois, and Alain Locke
Call Number: PS508.N3 C69 1999
Selected Letters of Langston Hughes by Call Number: PS3515.U274 Z48 2015
Milestone Documents in African American History by Call Number: E184.6 .M55 2010 Reference Collection
Tools for Discovery - Hathi Trust & Google Books
- Hathi Trust Digital LibraryHathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Google BooksFull-text database of thousands of titles published prior to 1930, and many published more recently. Use the advanced search to limiting by title and date published.
Using Primary Sources
- Making Sense of Evidence (History Matters from CUNY and GMU)Strategies for analyzing online primary materials, with interactive exercises and a guide to traditional and online sources.
Historical Newspapers & Magazines
- Historical New York Times(1851-2003) Provides full text access to the New York Times up to three years ago.
- Guide to Historical African American Newspapers OnlineExhaustive list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google.
- AFRO American Newspapers Archive [1902-2003]keyword search limited content; earliest years: browse only
- Chronicling AmericaSearch and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Primary Sources - Online Digital Collections
- Digital HarlemThe Digital Harlem website presents information, drawn from legal records, newspapers and other archival and published sources, about everyday life in New York City's Harlem neighborhood in the years 1915-1930. Most of the material relates to the years 1920, 1925, and 1930.
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black CultureDigital Schomburg -- exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government RecordsCollection of primary source documents,1901 to 1991, the focus is on the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th Century. Major topics covered: peonage, lynching, civil rights demonstrations, civil rights legislation, riots, and Black Power.
- North American Women's Letters and DiariesPrimary source material about personal and historical events written by women who lived in North America from 1675 to 1950.
- Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940Approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from microfilm, newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.
- Discovering American Women's History OnlinePrimary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. Descriptions and links to over 600 digital collections.
- American Memory Women's HistoryLibrary of Congress American Memory collections.
- American Memory ProjectWritten and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
- Sophia Smith Collection of Women's HistoryDigitized images and documents
- Google BooksFull-text database of thousands of titles published prior to 1930, and many published more recently. Use the advanced search to limiting by title and date published.
- American Decades Primary Sources (eBook)This ten-volume series (covering decades throughout the twentieth century) provides access to a wealth of primary sources specific to major events. While the series does not focus exclusively on women's history, relevant documents are included: for example, volume ten includes (among other relevant sources) text from the report of the American Association of University Women on How Schools Shortchange Girls, and Hillary Rodham Clinton's 1995 speech on how "Women's Rights are Human Rights."
- Documenting the American South (UNC)Digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.