LibGuides: Linguistics: Home

Featured Books

Arabic Sociolinguistics by Reem Bassiouney
Call Number: P40.45.A65 B37 2009
ISBN: 9781589015739
Publication Date: 2009-10-19
Conversation Analysis and Second Language Pedagogy by Jean Wong; Hansun Zhang Waring
Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOK
ISBN: 9780429488023
Publication Date: 2020-08-03
Language and Ethnic Identity by Joshua A. Fishman (Editor)
Call Number: P35 .H34 1999
ISBN: 0195124286
Publication Date: 1999-04-01

Featured Reference Work

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography by H. C. G. Matthew (Editor); Brian Harrison (Editor)
Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOK
ISBN: 019861411X
Publication Date: 2004-09-23
The ODNB is the standard reference work for British biography. Extensive bibliographic essays accompany many of the biographical entries. Also available in print, Reference Collection, 1st floor of TCNJ Library (call # DA28 .O95 2004).

Guide Introduction

We created this guide to help TCNJ students and faculty locate scholarly literature on a wide range of linguistics topics such as the history and development of English, language and society (i.e., sociolinguistics), second language acquisition including ESL, and bilingual education and policy. Use this guide to...

choose a research topic;
consult bibliographies and other reference works;
access important linguistics journals;
select the most useful linguistics databases;
search our discovery service for books and articles;
discover credible open websites in linguistics;
employ subject headings to find books and e-books; and
manage and cite your sources with RefWorks.

Questions? Use the links in the profile boxes to contact us.

Featured Databases

Dictionary of Old English Corpus (DOEC)
Gitenstein Library Database
more...less...
(600-1100 ) The Dictionary of Old English electronic corpus is a complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts. A catalogue of the texts included is available in Angus Cameron’s “A List of Old English Texts” in A Plan for the Dictionary of Old English, ed. R. Frank and A. Cameron (Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1973), pp. 25-306. There are 3037 texts in the corpus. The individual scholar must take responsibility for clearing copyright with the editors and publishers of the editions used in his/her own citations of the material.
Middle English Compendium (MEC)
Gitenstein Library Database
more...less...
(1100-1500) Includes an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary; a HyperBibliography of Middle English, which includes all the materials which are cited in the Middle English Dictionary; and the Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, a searchable corpus of almost 300 Middle English texts.
Middle English Manuscripts Online
British Library
open access
more...less...
Texts "range from copies of the works of Geoffrey Chaucer to William Langland's Piers Plowman, and from texts relating to veterinary medicine to the Chronicle of London."
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Gitenstein Library Database
more...less...
(1150- ) Documents the history of words in the English language including variant spellings, obsolete forms, combinations, derivatives, and definitions. More limited coverage of scientific and technical vocabulary, slang, jargon, and dialect. Meanings are arranged historically. Includes quotations from novelists, playwrights, journalists, scholars, scientists, legislators, politicians, diarists, saints, philosophers. Includes the full text of the 1989 Second Edition (20 printed volumes) and the 1993-1997 addition series (3 printed volumes). Advance release material for the projected 2010 New (Third) Edition is incorporated quarterly.
Oxford Reference Online
Gitenstein Library Database
more...less...
Provides access to more than 1 million entries in 175 Oxford University Press titles (mainly subject specialized dictionaries and companions), covering the arts , biological and physical sciences, business and economics, history, politics, philosophy and religion, the classics, mythology, literature, and so forth. Contents include bilingual dictionaries, timelines, biographical entries, maps, more than 20,000 quotations, and 15,000 illustrations. Quick and Advanced search options are available and results can be refined by subject or category.