COM 415: International Communication: Statistical Resources

Provides indexing and abstracts from three titles: American Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS). ASI (1973-present) covers statistical publications issued by the U.S. government. SRI (1980-present) covers publications from the 50 state governments, and academic and private organizations. IIS (1983-present) covers English language statistical publications of major intergovernmental organizations.

Statistical data for more than 270 countries/territories on population, labor, agriculture, forestry, fishing, industry, mining, manufacturing, transportation, communication, tourism, finance, energy, wages and prices, and more. Updated by the Monthly Bulletin of Statistics.

Main gateway to UN statistical resources

Statistical information on each country includes land and water area, boundaries, elevations, population, birth & death rates, life expectancy, ethnic groups, GDP, inflation rate, unemployment rate, exports, imports, transportation, the military and more.

Use Countries tab

Watchdog organization dedicated to the expansion of freedom and democracy around the world. Excellent coverage of freedom of the press, women's rights, net access, etc.

Includes statistics on: Childbearing, Education, Health, Housing, Human settlements, Literacy, Income and economic activity, Population, Unemployment, Water supply and sanitation, and Youth and elderly populations.

1) Change search interface from Basic Search to Advanced Search.
2) Enter your country name to the first search box (and change the search field to "GE Geographic Terms")
3) Enter “datamonitor” in the next search box
4) Enter "country profile" in the next search box
5) Search

Selected information from EIU is available via ABI/Inform. To access:
1. After logging in to the database, choose Advanced Search
2. Enter your country name in the first search box
3. Enter “viewswire” in the next search box
4. Add other relevant search terms as necessary

Information related to population, health, and the environment

Source for statistical data for nearly every country around the world. Information on historical, economic, and political conditions is available.

General statistics on over 300 categories from almost every country in the world. You can compare two countries at a time.

History, politics and economic background; includes audio or video clips from BBC archives.

Ethnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world’s known living languages.

From the Statistics Department of the International Monetary Fund (IMF), contains approximately 32,000 time series data covering more than 200 countries and areas from 1948 to the present. Standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. Reports data on topics such as exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.

Provides indexing and abstracts from three titles: American Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS). ASI (1973-present) covers statistical publications issued by the U.S. government. SRI (1980-present) covers publications from the 50 state governments, and academic and private organizations. IIS (1983-present) covers English language statistical publications of major intergovernmental organizations.

Provides business descriptions and complete financials (for up to 15 years) on over 11,000 US public companies, as well as selected international company data. Financials can be downloaded into spreadsheet applications. Create customized analyses and comparison reports for companies and their industries. Historical annual reports are also available.

Statistics section of online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Lots of content is available for free. If you need help accessing a resource that is not free, please contact your TCNJ librarian.

From the UN Office of Drugs & Crime