LibGuides: POL498: Place and Politics: Statistical and Data Resources

Statistical Resources

Statistical Resources LibGuide
OECD ilibrary
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.
Statista
Statista is a statistics portal that provides access to data from more than 18,000 sources. Results from customized search queries include lists of statistics, as well as studies and reports (including, in some cases, completed PowerPoint presentations) that place these statistics within a broader context.

Datasets

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
Vast archive of social science data including government studies and polls and surveys conducted by organizations and individual researchers
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, located at Cornell University, is one of the world’s leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from public opinion surveys. Includes the iPoll question databank, a vast collection of surveys from Gallup, Harris, Roper, the New York Times, and many other organizations covering national public opinion.
GDELT Project
Cross-national Time Series Data Archive

Data Rescue and Alternate Data Sources

Since January 2025, as a result of executive actions by the federal government, a large number of formerly reliable sources of US government data have vanished from the web. Below are some starting points for finding alternative sources of data and tracking these changes.

Internet Archive's Wayback Machine
The Internet Archive Wayback Machine is a service that allows people to visit archived versions of Web sites. Visitors to the Wayback Machine can type in a URL, select a date range, and then begin surfing on an archived version of the Web.
Butler University's Alternative Data Source Guide
This is one of several LibGuides created by other librarians, linking to alternative data sources.
Data Rescue Project [their data portal]
The Data Rescue Project (DRP) serves as a clearinghouse for preserving at-risk public information.
Policy Map's Collection of Purged Federal Data
TCNJ does not subscribe to the paid version of Policy Map, however many of these items are free to use.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
This is a project of the University of Wisconsin, but has data from several states, and backups of national datasets.
IPUMS (all data)
IPUMS is a data repository maintained by the University of Minnesota. It gathers many different kinds of population and demographic data, including US Census and ACS data, and makes it a bit easier to search. This was a useful resource even before the data purge.
Finding Government Data During the 2025 Transition
This guide by the University of Minnesota Libraries provides resources for finding data, and tracking the changes being made to government websites. Click through the menu on the left side of the page to see all the guide's components.