Is It Peer Reviewed (Scholarly)?
Already found an article and want to know if the journal is peer reviewed?
Check here:
Look for the tiny referee shirt next to the journal name or check under "document type"."
Recommended Databases
Recommended databases for finding journal articles include:
EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete
Large full text collection. Covers a variety of topics across many disciplines. You can limit your results to scholarly articles.
Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles in over 350 leading English language periodicals in a broad array of the social sciences. Subject coverage includes anthropology, criminology, law, political science, psychology, sociology and women’s studies. The front-end uses the familiar EBSCO Host platform.
Comprehensive and systematic coverage of the psychological literature. A "must use" for any topic with a psychological focus. Also a member of the EBSCO Host "family" of databases.
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to scholarly educational literature and to ERIC Documents. This resource from the U.S. Dept. of Education contains over 1.4 million records for article citations and abstracts from education journals, together with links to many thousands of full-text documents (books, papers, reports, and more) from ERIC back to 1966. ERIC actively indexes more than 1,100 journals (90% peer-reviewed). Also uses EBSCO Host platform.
Provides a strong research solution in areas specifically related to communication and mass media. Also uses the familiar EBSCO Host platform.
Indexes and provides citations and abstracts to criminal justice literature. topics include crime trends, justice, punishment, sentencing, juvenile delinquency, etc.
For Newspaper Articles:
Selected full-text newspaper articles and newswires from the United States and abroad. Access World News is particularly strong in providing access to local, state, regional, and national news.
And Then There Is...
Broadly search for scholarly literature. You can search across many disciplines and sources:
peer-reviewed journals, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from
academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories,
universities and other scholarly organizations.
Quick Tip
Allows you to search across many disciplines and sources
including peer-reviewed journals, theses, and books.
Be sure to access Google Scholar from the
to take advantage of direct links to available full text.