Reference Shelf
Use this libguide to complete your research. For additional sources and search tips, see the English literature libguide. If you'd like to meet with me about your research click the Schedule Research Consultation button (right-hand column).
Begin your research with the reference works listed below. Track down background information authored by literary scholars; choose and/or refine your research topic; identify disciplinary terms, an important consideration in "keyword" searches of library databases such as JSTOR; and find both autobiographies and relevant, high-impact secondary criticisms. For example, cite a secondary journal article found in the "further reading" section of an encyclopedia article.
Bio-bibliography
Notable Women in American History: A Guide to Recommended Biographies and Autobiographies by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0313295840Publication Date: 1999-08-30Employ this reference work to identify primary-source autobiographies. It is also available in print.
Personal Writings by Women to 1900: A Bibliography of American and British Writers by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0806122064Publication Date: 1989-05-01Identify primary-source autobiographies written before 1900. It is also available in print.
Companion
The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780195066081Publication Date: 1995-01-05See the entry titled "Autobiography."
Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Women's Autobiography by Call Number: HQ1185 .E63 2005ISBN: 0313327378Publication Date: 2005-08-30
Handbooks
Handbook of Autobiography / Autofiction by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9783110279818Publication Date: 2019-01-29
The Routledge International Handbook on Narrative and Life History by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781138784291Publication Date: 2016-11-02
Methodology, Study and teaching
Research Methodologies for Auto/biography Studies by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780429288432Publication Date: 2019-06-03
Featured
Women and the Autobiographical Impulse: A History by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 1350237612Publication Date: 2023-10-05
Humanities Librarian
David C. Murray
https://orcid.org/0000-0001-5787-2609
Contact:
TCNJ Library,
Room 216
Room 216
609-771-3217