Encyclopedia (Open Web)
GLBTQ.com: An Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture (archived August 1, 2015), contains 2,000 signed articles on literature (including author biographies), the arts, and the social sciences written by academics and other experts.
Online Museum Exhibition
View online the exhibition Nazi Persecution of Homosexuals, 1933-1945, sponsored by the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
LGBT Resources (Open Web)
The following educational and non-profit portals provide credible publications on a wide variety of topics related to LGBTQ history and literature. The articles, reports, and other sources available from these sites can often be used for academic research, that is to obtain authoritative background information, scholarly secondary research, and digitized primary sources.
Of particular interest to students enrolled in LIT 499:
- Breaking Down the Last Taboo: LGBT Young Adult Literature in the Preservice ClassroomOpen access, scholarly journal article authored by Steffel, Susan and Renzi-Keener, Laura (2009), Language Arts Journal of Michigan: Vol. 24: Iss. 2, Article 7.
- GLBT Round Table (GLBTRT) of the American Library AssociationProfessional librarian organization responsible for conferring the prestigious Stonewall Book Awards. Also see the GLBT-RT sponsored 2019 Rainbow List. And finally, check out the organization's informative newsletter and bibliographies.
- Lambda Literary Reviews: Young Adult"Lambda Literary believes Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer literature is fundamental to the preservation of our culture, and that LGBTQ lives are affirmed when our stories are written, published and read."
Primary and/or secondary sources on the open web:
- Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD)Go to Resources > Publications for full-text guides and reports on various topics of interest to researchers of the LGBT community and its history.
- Human Rights Campaign (HRC Resources)"HRC seeks to improve the lives of LGBT Americans by advocating for equal rights and benefits in the workplace, ensuring families are treated equally under the law and increasing public support among all Americans through innovative advocacy, education and outreach programs" (website). These sources could be used as primary or secondary depending on the researcher's purpose.
- Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund"Lambda Legal is a national organization committed to achieving full recognition of the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and those with HIV through impact litigation, education and public policy work." See Your Rights > Publications & Resources. "Lambda Legal publishes [online] an assortment of booklets; tool kits; brochures; short material on cases, issues and campaigns; and more."
- Lesbian Herstory Archives"The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities."
- LGBT Community Center National History ArchiveThe LGBT Community Center National History Archive [of NYC] serves to preserve the history of our community and its rich heritage.
- Making Gay History"The Making Gay History podcast mines Eric Marcus’s decades-old audio archive of rare interviews — conducted for his award-winning oral history of the LGBTQ civil rights movement — to create intimate, personal portraits of both known and long-forgotten champions, heroes, and witnesses to history."
- National Gay and Lesbian Task Force: Reports & StudiesResearch reports, issue maps, and fact sheets "ranging from the effects of same-sex marriage restriction on Latino families to ex-gay ministries to right-wing efforts to win African-American votes by spreading homophobia."
- NYC LGBT Historic Sites Project"The first initiative to document historic and cultural sites associated with the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community in the five boroughs. Sites illustrate the richness of the city’s LGBT history and the community’s influence on America."
- Oral History HubLGBTQ History | Digital Collaboratory
- OutHistory.org"OutHistory.org is produced by The Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies (CLAGS), located at the City University of New York Graduate Center." It currently contains well over 500 entries on various aspects of LGBT History.
- People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History"People with a History presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people. It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and [soon] images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world" (hosted by Fordham University).
- Southwest Virginia LGBTQ+ History"Founded in 2015, this project is a community-based public history initiative committed to researching and telling the stories of LGBTQ+ individuals and organizations in the surrounding area" (Roanoke College Digital Collections).
- The Wilcox Archives of the William Way Center"Philadelphia 's most extensive collection of rare books, periodicals, video and audio tapes, periodicals, personal correspondence, and other ephemera documenting the rich history of our LGBT community."
- Williams Institute - UCLA School of Law"The Williams Institute advances sexual orientation law and public policy through rigorous, independent research and scholarship, and disseminates it to judges, legislators, policymakers, media and the public." See the Research menu.
Guide Author
David C. Murray
https://orcid.org/0000-0001-5787-2609
Contact:
TCNJ Library,
Room 216
Room 216
609-771-3217