Skip to main content

Assessment: Find Articles/Databases

A Domain of Counselor Education

Finding Article Full-Text

When looking for scholarly articles only, remember to check the box labeled either PEER-REVIEWED or REFEREED on the database search page.

Locate the Full-Text of an Article in a Database:

1. Check for PDF icon on article record in database search results. If not available,

2. Click on "Search for Full-Text" to check for ARTICLE link or request InterLibrary Loan.

Locate the Full-Text of Article from a Citation:

Click on the JOURNALS button on the library homepage to search for the name a specific journal. The results will indicate all TCNJ subscriptions, both print and electronic.

Finding More Databases

Search for scholarly articles by using research databases.
On the library home page, a database may be selected by two methods:

Research Databases by Discipline

PSYCHOLOGY

  • PsycInfo (EBSCO)   An expansive abstracting and indexing database with more than 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed journals, books, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health.  Professional coverage beyond psychology includes related disciplines such as medicine, law, social work, neuroscience, business, nursing, forensics, and more.   Official Subject Headings include: Measurement, Individual Testing, Needs Assessment,  Personality Measures,  Psychological Assessment, Psychological Report, Evaluation.
  • Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) A database that describes questionnaires, rating scales, projective techniques, and other types of instruments used in the health, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library science fields. The information is drawn from journal articles and compendiums, with each entry including the source of the test information, abstract, number of items, etc. No actual tests are included.

 

EDUCATION

  • ERIC (EBSCO)    ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials (books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and policy papers) and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.  DESCRIPTORS (Official Subject Headings) include:   Evaluation, Evaluation Methods, Needs Assessment, Research Methodology, Personality Assessment,  Measurement, Measures (Individuals).

 

INTERDISCIPLINARY  (Search May Be Limited to Peer-Reviewed Journals)

  • OmniFile Full-Text Mega      Provides indexing, abstracting, and selected full text to the Wilson databases for Business, Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, and the Social Sciences.
  • Academic Search Premier     Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,100 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,000 journals and a total of more than 11,400 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Research Databases by Discipline

HEALTH SCIENCES

Keyword vs. Descriptor Searching

While you can also search ERIC or PsycInfo using keywords of your choosing, you will get more precise search results if you use Thesaurus terms. That's because searching by keywords requires matching the exact words found in a record, while searching by Descriptors allows you to locate records indexed by subject, regardless of the terminology the author may have used. The ERIC or PsycInfo Thesaurus will allow you to conduct systemic searches and save time by reducing guesswork and trial-and-error methods.

Source

Searching PsycINFO for Tests & Measures