When looking for scholarly articles only, remember to check the box labeled either PEER-REVIEWED or REFEREED on the database search page.
Locate the Full-Text of an Article in a Database:
1. Check for PDF icon on article record in database search results. If not available,
2. Click on "Search for Full-Text" to check for ARTICLE link or request InterLibrary Loan.
Locate the Full-Text of Article from a Citation:
Click on the JOURNALS button on the library homepage to search for the name a specific journal. The results will indicate all TCNJ subscriptions, both print and electronic.
The most comprehensive international database of psychology. Provides citations and abstracts from the academic, research and practice literature in psychology, and includes materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work and criminology. Indexes journals, books and book chapters, dissertations and technical reports. Search Strategy: Use PsycInfo subject headings for best results. PsycInfo subject headings include: Psychotherapy, Eclectic Psychotherapy, Integrative Psychotherapy, Emotion Focused Therapy, Multimodal Treatment Approach, Psychotherapeutic Processes, Existential Therapy.
A definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA). The database contains over 150,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. Search Strategy: Use ERIC Descriptors for best results. ERIC Descriptors include: Therapy, Psychotherapy, Counseling, Counseling Theories, Counseling Psychology, Group Counseling, Counseling Effectiveness, Counselors
Provides indexing, abstracting, and selected full text to the Wilson databases for Business, Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, and the Social Sciences.
Provides citations and abstracts to journals covering most academic areas of study including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and women's studies.
Research Databases assign Subject Headings to each article.
*Use the ERIC Thesaurus to look up official ERIC search terms, known as DESCRIPTORS.
*PsycInfo has its own Thesaurus to determine official subject headings.
While you can also search databases using keywords of your choosing, you will get more precise search results if you use SUBJECT terms. That's because searching by keywords requires matching the exact words found in a record, while searching by official Subject Headings allows you to locate records indexed by subject, regardless of the terminology the author may have used. The ERIC Thesaurus and Subject Heading lists in other databases will allow you to conduct systemic searches and save time by reducing guesswork and trial-and-error methods.