Skip to main content

Career Development: Articles/Databases

A Domain of Counselor Education

Finding Article Full-Text

When looking for scholarly articles only, remember to check the box labeled either PEER-REVIEWED or REFEREED on the database search page.

Locate the Full-Text of an Article in a Database:

1. Check for PDF icon on article record in database search results. If not available,

2. Click on "Search for Full-Text" to check for ARTICLE link or request InterLibrary Loan.

Locate the Full-Text of Article from a Citation:

Click on the JOURNALS button on the library homepage to search for the name a specific journal. The results will indicate all TCNJ subscriptions, both print and electronic.

Finding More Databases

Search for scholarly articles by using research databases.
On the library home page, a database may be selected by two methods:

Best Databases

Database Search Terms

Research Databases assign Subject Headings to each article.

Use the ERIC Thesaurus to look up official ERIC search terms, known as DESCRIPTORS.

PsycInfo also has a Thesuarus of subject terms.

Keyword vs. Subject Heading Searches

While you can also search databases using keywords of your choosing, you will get more precise search results if you use SUBJECT terms. That's because searching by keywords requires matching the exact words found in a record, while searching by official Subject Headings allows you to locate records indexed by subject, regardless of the terminology the author may have used. The ERIC Thesaurus and Subject Heading lists in other databases will allow you to conduct systemic searches and save time by reducing guesswork and trial-and-error methods.